Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This was great. Filling, cheap to make, easy! I do think, the cabbage is a little overcooked. I would reduce the last 20 minute simmer to about 10. Also, next time, I will find a less spicy sausage. We used one, and it had too much kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
When I was cooking this it looked odd and I was worried! I added some spices to the recipe. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
Great soup. I used italian sausage and substituted broccoli for the cabbage. Other than that it just needed salt for our taste. My kids and hubby loved it. Next time I'll try it with cabbage and bratwurst
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I was looking for a way to use some leftover Bratwurst Patties and did a search for "bratwurst" on this site. What a hit! Wonderful recipe. My whole family ate it up! I substituted 2 cups of shredded mixed blend cheese (Mont. Jack/Cheddar) instead of the Swiss. And I added 1 teaspoon of curry powder to the mix. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This was delicious! Starts off looking a little weird, but I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. My finicky 4-year-old, and my husband who despises cabbage, both loved it (me too)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Substituted broccoli for cabbage, and 1/2 cheddar 1/2 mozzarella for swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I LOVE this soup! I actually made it for dinner for my boyfriends family! What a hit! Now they ask me to make it all the time. I'm not a fan of Swiss cheese, so I use Cooper Sharp instead. Cooper is a wonderful compliment to the bratwurst flavor. This soup is almost a stew. Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglassville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I loved this soup. Was afraid of using milk but I'm so glad I gave it a try. I did doctor it a little because it was abit bland. As in previous reviews I added soy sauce, a bit of red pepper powder and liquid smoke..served with some crusty bread and made my husband a happy man...definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
WOW! This soup is wonderful! My husband can't stop raving about it! He says it's a taste explosion. (Of course, he loves bratwurst.) His eyes opened so wide after just one bite! I did season it up. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OANDREA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was so yummy. My kids kept coming into the kitchen to taste it as I was cooking. They were excited for dinner. I did however add some fresh minced garlic, salt, pepper and blanched spinach to the recipe. I used less of the cabbage as well, and I put that in during the browning stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States