Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This was delicious! Starts off looking a little weird, but I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. My finicky 4-year-old, and my husband who despises cabbage, both loved it (me too)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I added a good dark German beer when I added the cabbage, it gave it a wonderful extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This was great. Filling, cheap to make, easy! I do think, the cabbage is a little overcooked. I would reduce the last 20 minute simmer to about 10. Also, next time, I will find a less spicy sausage. We used one, and it had too much kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I was looking for a way to use some leftover Bratwurst Patties and did a search for "bratwurst" on this site. What a hit! Wonderful recipe. My whole family ate it up! I substituted 2 cups of shredded mixed blend cheese (Mont. Jack/Cheddar) instead of the Swiss. And I added 1 teaspoon of curry powder to the mix. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
When I was cooking this it looked odd and I was worried! I added some spices to the recipe. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I loved this soup! My girlfriend doesnt eat any soup besides chicken noodle and she loved this soup to. I did changed it up a bit. Along with the bratwurst i also added a half pound of bacon. I cut it up into 1 inch long strips and cooked it with the bratwurst. I was out of swiss cheese and found that a slice of american cheese in each bowl was a great substitute. I added a minced clove of fresh garlic and a few shakes of red pepper flakes when browning the meat. I also substituted corn beef broth (from the night before) for the water. I WILL make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Substituted broccoli for cabbage, and 1/2 cheddar 1/2 mozzarella for swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Excellent and will definitely make again. I used Turkey Bratwurst and thought it worked well. I also added red pepper flakes, garlic powder, salt, soy sauce and replaced 1 cp of water with 1 cup of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
Great soup. I used italian sausage and substituted broccoli for the cabbage. Other than that it just needed salt for our taste. My kids and hubby loved it. Next time I'll try it with cabbage and bratwurst
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States