Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
So yummy! I have made this several times. I have made it with regular brats and spicy brats. I also have made it with cabbage, spinach, chard and most recently bok choy. It is always great. Also, I add some chicken stock in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Absolutely wonderful recipe. Perfect for cold weather, but also good in warm. Be sure to let the cabbage cook down and the soup thicken. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OANDREA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was so yummy. My kids kept coming into the kitchen to taste it as I was cooking. They were excited for dinner. I did however add some fresh minced garlic, salt, pepper and blanched spinach to the recipe. I used less of the cabbage as well, and I put that in during the browning stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
WOW! This soup is wonderful! My husband can't stop raving about it! He says it's a taste explosion. (Of course, he loves bratwurst.) His eyes opened so wide after just one bite! I did season it up. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I loved this soup. Was afraid of using milk but I'm so glad I gave it a try. I did doctor it a little because it was abit bland. As in previous reviews I added soy sauce, a bit of red pepper powder and liquid smoke..served with some crusty bread and made my husband a happy man...definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
We really enjoyed this! It was nice and creamy - great comfort food on a cold, winter night. I didn't add all the milk so it was very thick, just the way we like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This recipe was good with a little tweeking. Was bland at first. Added some Liquid smoke and onion salt. Made it much better. Took it to a soup social with 15 other soups and this one was voted best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Not really crazy about the bratwurst, but otherwise the combo of the potato & cabbage was very nice. Good base for a potato soup w/a spin, but next time I definitely won't use brats, maybe bacon which would complement the cabbage nicely. There wasn't enough liquid to cook the cabbage, had to add an extra 1/2 c. as some others suggested. Also, was a big bland so we spiced it up w/some seasoning (salt, pepper, dash of Frank's Red Hot, etc.) which brought out the flavors. Well worth making again, but will not follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This is a great recipe - but I was concerned about it being flavorful, and having enough liquid, so I added: 1 can (2 cups) chicken stock red pepper - flakes red pepper - powder worcestershire Paul Prudhomme's - about 2-3 tbsp additional cheese - colby jack cheddar garlic powder and it came out FANTASTICALLY! Would definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I altered this recipe to accomodate diabetes management, by using heavy whipping cream in lieu of milk. It is an excellent recipe! And I don't like cabbage! smiling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States