Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My husband loves this soup!! He hates the winter, but is excited this year because he knows I will put this soup into our rotation. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendrakg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I liked the taste of this recipe but it was a bit thick and I think I would use a different cheese next time. It took longer than I thought to prepare. Still, a great soup and worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
We did not like this combination of ingredients at all. My DH wanted to try it because he really likes sausage soups and after reading the recipe I knew it would be bland so we added lots of fennel seeds and sage and while that helped we couldn't get past the watery, milky broth and chewy cabbage. We were able to finish one bowl, but the rest had to be thrown away. We will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Based on other reviews I used chicken broth instead of water and added fresh garlic & celery to step one. Also, I used Velveeta instead of Swiss because it is more economical and I had tripled the recipe to serve at my tavern. Turned out to be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This soup is really good. I think next time I will add more potato though. That was the only flaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Loved it! I always use Evaporated milk in soups. It makes them nice and creamy! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was good. I had to add 3 more cups of water because it was so thick, and that was only using 1/2 the cabbage. I added some garlic, salt and pepper per other's suggestions. It was good. The kids didn't dig it but my husband and I liked it. We are vegetarian so I used Boca Bratwurst instead of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
OMG is all I can say. This soup is out of this world. Did tweek it a little. Doubled the recipe so had to use more water to boil everything. Also used cumin,chili powder,minced garlic,crushed red pepper,2 chicken boulion cubes and 4oz each of sharp chedder and pepper jack cheese. Will serve this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I am very surprised people have liked this SO much. It was just ok to me. Def. needs some seasoning and is very chowder like. I made this to give me a break from my Cabbage soup diet...wonder if this is very healthy or not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Husband thought was bland but would eat again. Child wanted more cheese in it. I agreed with another reviewer about cabbage boiled overlong with 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States