Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Both myself and my boyfriend loved this recipe! We substituted broccoli for the cabbage and chedder jack cheese for the swiss cheese. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Absolutley delicious!I used fresh sausage in mine,added some crushed red pepper for little kick!Can't wait to make this winter,even though the cabbage won't be out of our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayandnight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Good, but not as good as I was expecting with all the rave reviews here. I used smoked brats, leeks instead of onions, less cabbage, and not as much flour. It was definitely better the 2nd day, so make extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
So Yummy!!! something different!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I halved this recipe, used 12 oz of Jones sausage instead of 8 oz of bratwurst, substituted vegetable stock for the water, and omitted the cheese when I tried this. It seemed a little too thick, so I added a can of evaporated milk, and it came out heavenly! This will be added to my list of absolute favorite soups, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
YUMMY! Instant hit at the dinner table! From my 6 year old to my husband..plus our friend...loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Really good for a quick and easy soup! I used some garlic cheddar cheese instead of swiss and substituted the bratwurst for pork sausage. Re-heated really well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Good base but personally I thought it needed some spice/heat. Will make again with some modifications. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I replaced a cup of the water with a can of Guinness. I also used frozen spinach instead of cabbage. I don't like it when cabbage gets soft. Lastly, I used cornstarch instead of flour. Warning: give the cornstarch a few minutes to work because if you keep adding more it will become really thick. For spices I added garlic salt, poultry seasoning, pepper, and grill seasoning(I add this to any potato cream soup). I made this for the Superbowl and everyone who tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is amazing. Used a colby/jack mix for the cheese, and fully cooked beer brats. Oh my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States