Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Really good. I had to add a lot of salt and pepper for flavor and I didn't use near as much cabbage as it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great soup. I made this last year and lost the recipe, I am so glad i found it again. The only thing that i did different was i added salt and pepper and substituted kielbasa instead of bratwurst. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is a great soup! It has a very nice consistency and flavor. Easy to make and proud to serve. I used sweet Italian sausage, which I didn't like. We'll go regular or spicy next time. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Best soup I've ever had. If you like cabbage, you will adore this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very tasty!! Needs more spices/salt but other than that, the original recipe is solid. This is a great "main dish" soup and makes fantastic leftovers. We ate it with cheddar cheese garnish and french bread! YUM. The other reviewers are right - it looks weird until you're done adding the milk, but turns out great. To save time, I put the cabbage and the potatoes in at the same time and simmer for 20 - 25 minutes. I always add a cube of chicken boullion, and salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I doubled the recipe... Did not use any flour... After I fried up the bratwurst, I dumped it on several paper towels, then blotted it with some more towels to get rid of some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great recipe! All six eaters devoured it and asked for the recipe. Followed recipe as stated with minor changes as suggested by others. Did not peel the potatoes, healthier and easier anyway, and added chicken bouillon granuals to the water. Since I also added an extra potato, I added l more cup of broth. It needed it. For the cheese I used half shredded cheddar and half spicy jack for a little kick. I also prefer to make my thickening with corn starch instead of flour to avoid the lumps. Thank you Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
My husband LOVED this soup (I did too)! Only changes made were: -Used beef broth (all I had on hand) instead of the water. -Left skin on potatoes. Next time, I'll use chicken broth and a different kind of sausage (something spicy). Oh- and yes, it looks a little strange when you're cooking- but if you follow the directions, everything will turn out great. Also, even better the second day. Definitely a winter weather keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thatssoboss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Really good. I added several cloves of minced garlic, a few shakes of red pepper flakes and 4 slices of bacon chopped into 1 inch pieces. Cooked the bacon and sausage together until bacon was cooked through and the sausage was browned. Also followed others' advice and only boiled the cabbage for 10ish minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have been making this recipe for 20+ years. My family LOVES it! It is satisfying and warm for a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States