Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Everyone loved this soup...except for son, he does not care for bratwurst. I did not have swiss cheese so I used sharp cheddar. I also added a little cream cheese. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
No one in my family liked this...and we like cabbbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Made this for my husband last night. He loved it! I didn't have real swiss so I used laughing cow light + gruyere + American (melted it in the microwave first, then mixed it in at the end) worked out well. Also used Lactaid instead of real milk, kinda tasty. And garnished with fresh chopped parsley. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Temple City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was quite tasty...a great comfort food. I followed the recipe exactly but used kielbasa instead of bratwurst, just because I love kielbasa and cabbage together. I will definitely be making this again. Just as a note, I used red potatoes, as they tend to hold up better than russet potatoes. They were tender but didn't turn to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Absolutely excellent !! I made it exactly as written with one addition.. I also added a good dark German beer when adding the cabbage. Seriously, this is a great soup !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Outstanding! The only ingredient I changed was using a can of low sodium chicken broth instead of the water (although I added about 1/2 cup water to give enough liquid to cover bratwurst and potatoes). I also cooked the onion with the bratwurst meat, because I prefer my onion to be browned in soups. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written and it is fantastic. Thanks for such a great, easy dish! ETA: I think the blandness other reviewers experienced had to do with the type of bratwurst they used. Be sure to get a good, "real", fresh Wisconsin bratwurst and you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was a perfect, comforting soup for a cold day like today! The only thing I had to change was that I did not have any swiss cheese, but I did have some Velveeta, so I subbed that. Other than the cheese, I made this exactly as written and was rewarded with a delicious, hearty soup taht my hubby went crazy for. So simple too...I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I didn't know what to do with the deer bratwurst my husband brought home that had been in the freezer for a year. I used this recipe and added white pepper, cayeene, pepper, some more salt, beef bullion and a bay leaf. It was delicious. Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefintrainingturner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Really good. I had to add a lot of salt and pepper for flavor and I didn't use near as much cabbage as it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great soup. I made this last year and lost the recipe, I am so glad i found it again. The only thing that i did different was i added salt and pepper and substituted kielbasa instead of bratwurst. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States