Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I made this soup with a few substitutions; homemade chicken broth in stead of water and I didn't have sausage so I used ham instead. Swiss cheese and ham are good together, so it was no exception here. I added salt, pepper, garlic powder and red pepper flakes. One criticism I have is the potatoes cooked down to near nothing...the chunks should have been cut larger (at least 3/4 to 1 in. chunks). My cabbage kept it's form, but I only cooked it 10 min. instead of the 20 min. suggested in the recipe. I do think less cabbage would also be best as it seemed to be very dominant in this soup. I'm not sure if I will make this one again as there are so many other soup recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Good, I'll definitely make again. I used broth instead of water and did not have swiss cheese, so just omitted that step. It took a while to thicken up, so I might adjust that in the future, but overall was really good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made this in my slow cooker this morning. I cut the brats into 1inch pieces and then browned them. I added all of the ingredients except for the 1cup of milk and the flour and let it cook on low all day. I thickened it when I got home from work. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This recipe was a hit. Though I will probably cook the bratwurst so that it is slightly crunchy. That way it will be a little less mushy in the soup. Great taste with the swiss cheese....yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiek82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
this was delicious - my whole picky family loved it! I tried to follow the recipe exactly, but I made 3 changes out of necessity. I had celery that was past its prime, so I added it to sneak in some more vegetables. I doubled the recipe and substituted 2 C water for 2 C chicken broth. My husband is allergic to nitrites and nitrates and I could not find bratwurst without them, but I did find ham without. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Loved ths soup! Only things I did different was I used Keilbasa instead of the bratwurst, cheddar cheese instead of Swiss, and added a bit more water when simmering cabbage and potato. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very tasty and healthy soup. It met the expectations of all my guests and was easy to spice up with some red pepper flakes! Great for a chilled day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justanotherrodeogirl
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
i make this soup alot but at times i make it my fast easy way i use 3 cups stock chicken or veggie,1 lb of any sausage 1 onion 1 head cabbage and 3 oz parm cheese and for all thoes that have issues with roux i use 1 cup instant mashed potatoes i do that also with clam chowder it donesnt separate and makes it always look white and creamy but as is if you are not one to over cook an burn a roux this is good as it stands,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very good! Fresh brats definitely help with the flavor of this recipe. I live in Wisconsin...so they are readily available. I used a little more water, but I think that was needed because of the amount of potatos I put in. I also added some s&p, and red pepper flakes. This was great. The ratios can easily be adjusted. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States