Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I altered this recipe to accomodate diabetes management, by using heavy whipping cream in lieu of milk. It is an excellent recipe! And I don't like cabbage! smiling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I added a good dark German beer when I added the cabbage, it gave it a wonderful extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I ended up needing more water than called for.The end taste was very bland.Salt and pepper were definately needed ,but I being from the south had to add Tony Chachere's.It left me really just wanting baked potatoe soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Spectacular. What an easy recipe to prepare, with ingredients that are often on-hand at our house. I did not remove the bratwurst castings; it seemed more trouble than it would have been worth. I used three potatoes and added another 1/2 cup of water after I added the cabbage. There wasn't any liquid to "boil," that's when I added the extra water. I did use a little garlic salt and fresh ground pepper. My wife was totally impressed and I rarely impress her with my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
I'm sorry, but my family hated this soup. I rarely ever toss out food (too cheap), but this has got to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I LOVE this soup! I actually made it for dinner for my boyfriends family! What a hit! Now they ask me to make it all the time. I'm not a fan of Swiss cheese, so I use Cooper Sharp instead. Cooper is a wonderful compliment to the bratwurst flavor. This soup is almost a stew. Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglassville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
My family LOVES cabbage, so this recipe already started out on the right foot! I followed the recipe, except for following Holly's suggestion of using sweet italian sausage instead of bratwurst (a favorite of my husband's). We will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Substituted broccoli for cabbage, and 1/2 cheddar 1/2 mozzarella for swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This was great. Filling, cheap to make, easy! I do think, the cabbage is a little overcooked. I would reduce the last 20 minute simmer to about 10. Also, next time, I will find a less spicy sausage. We used one, and it had too much kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
this is good on a cold day.Kids im not sure, they would have to like cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States