Bratwurst and Shrimp Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Really good! I used turkey sausage "brats" for healthier meal and I quartered 2 lemons and allowed them to stay in the pot for more flavor, turned out great, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was even more delicious than I hoped it would be, and based on the reviews I read, I had pretty high hopes! I followed the recipe exactly with one exception...I quartered the red potatoes to make sure they cooked completely. It was easy and really tasty...a great summer meal! (Update -- I recently scaled up this recipe to feed a group of 20, cooked in a 15-gallon "jambalaya" pot over an open fire. Everyone *loved* it. The feedback I got was to use more bratwurst and bigger shrimp, so if your group is mainly meat eaters, plan accordingly!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very tasty meal, I tripled the recipe, it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jeanerette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This one is a man-pleaser. Takes some time though - probably an hour for me from starting the brats to finishing everything. Others have mentioned the smell and I didn't notice it so much while it was cooking but there was definitely an odor that hung around the house for a couple days. The recipe didn't say what to do with the cooking liquid at the end so I checked some other recipes and found you are supposed to drain it off. Seemed like a waste to dump all that beer and seasoning down the drain. Next time I might get a taste of it and see if it would be good on the side with bread dipped in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Kind of reminds me of the Low Country Boil we loved when we lived in Georgia. Its close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janice
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
We loved this dish. My only issue was the smell and noxious fumes coming off the water once it came to a boil with the seasonings in it. It was overwhelming and I'd love to know how to avoid that from occurring in the future. I used New Orleans brand Shrimp and Crab Boil mix since I am not a fan of Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I talked my husband through making this at a Father/ Daughter adventure princess campout. My husband does NOT cook anything and got assigned to make dinner for the dinner competition with a Cajun theme. He won first place with this recipe. We left out the lemon and he took french bread to dip in the broth. Everyone loved it, but it was spicy for the girls. My husband is still craving the corn. Said it was the best corn he's ever had. The other dads all made copies of the recipe. We used already cooked beef sausage so he wouldn't have to grill the sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
It was a hit and now we are going to have a Shrimp Boil party for the OSU/Michigan Game...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
We made this camping in our dutch oven. Easy to prepare and one bowl to clean. My 4 & 8 year olds loved to eat the whole meal with their hands. This is our new camping tradition. I am going to try making a cocktail and garlic aioli sauce for dipping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I have made this MANY times now. I make it just as suggested but double up on the shrimp. My husband and I LOVE to cook and eat. We try a lot of recipes from allrecipes.com. This is hands down one of the best recipes we've ever pulled from this site. Thanks so much. It's good eatin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States