Braseltouille - Meatatarian Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
LOVE this dish! We don't change a thing about it and it's a regular in our home. I recommend it as a gateway dish to introduce squash to your family or friends. It certainly got us to try more squash dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemBot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Since I made some changes to this I'm giving it 5 stars on principle-- I added some eggplant to the mix and used mozzarella as well as a tiny bit of grated aged provolone since I didn't have enough cheddar on hand. I'll make sure to have cheddar on hand the next time I make this. I didn't cook the squash on the stovetop nearly as long as the instructions called for fear of overcooking, and the texture turned out perfect according to my tastes. I also added a little beef stock to it before going into the oven because I thought it would have been a little dry otherwise. It was very tasty and I will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so I just diced three or four roma tomatoes and simmered them for a little bit before tossing them in. I don't much care for steamed squash, so I was thrilled that this turned out to be so tasty and easy to make. Since I used my food processor to slice the squash, and zucchini very thin (2 mm slices), I also shortened the stove top cooking times a little bit. It still turned out perfectly. A very flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Easy enough for the man of the house to make. He did it all on the stove-top instead. Subbed the veggies for a bag of frozen Italian veggie mix and left out the green pepper (didn't have any). Opted for a can of spicy diced tomatoes. Also some red wine was used for de-glazing after the sausage was cooked and the pan de-greased. My boys ate this atop some cooked spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I was looking for a way to use squash and zucchini I had in the fridge and came across this recipe. I was surprised at how delicious it was. Hubby loved it. I had to use a mild form of the sausage due to young kids, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. This one is going on the 'keeper' list. Thanks so much for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I used this recipe as a guide. I made several modification, but without this basic recipe, I couldn't have done that, so for that reason alone, you get 5 stars. I'm doing the paleo lifestyle so these were my modifications: omitted the cheese, used baby eggplant along with the squash and zucchini (used my mandolin to cut them lengthwise). Layered it all in my baking dish like I was making a lasagna, using my veggies instead of pasta, and baked. It was great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
On e of the best squash casseroles I have ever had. Can't wait to cook it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is my second time making this dish and my family loves it. Even my picky teenagers did not mind the amout of veggis in this dish. As noted by Rock_lobster, you may want to remove some of the liquid before baking. I cooked as listed the first time but used mozzarella instead of cheddar. It was a little on the water side. The second time I strained the can tomatoes really well before adding them to the skillet and that made a huge difference. The only other sub I made was using minced garlic instead of fresh. I think this a great way to use squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Even my husband who hates squash will eat it. I usually use 1 lb of spicy Italian and 1 lb of sweet and is perfect! I usually double the recipe so we have plenty of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
used link sausage, a very hearty meal. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Disney’s Ratatouille

Colorful vegetables bake in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States