Brandy or Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I traded the brandy for Amaretto and the walnuts for almonds.Some I rolled in just nuts others nuts and powered sugar. Everyone loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I used to like when my neighbor made rum balls, so I wanted to try this recipe. In the directions, I would suggest that the nuts be added IN the mixture, as opposed to rolling the balls around them, since the former is easier to do. I would also suggest that you indicate in the directions that the mixture needs to be refrigerated for at least a half an hour. This will make it possible to form balls out of the thickened mixture. In any case, I knew enough to do those steps myself. I also added a half of tsp allspice, and it tastes good. I will refrigerate the balls overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
What worked for me is to keep your hands powdered with confectioner sugar when forming the balls. The other method that worked was to keep very damp paper towels by you to keep rewetting hands if using the wet method. This are yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just made these for the first time using a good brand of aged dark rum. Yummy. I had no problem with these at all even using the smaller box of cookies. My mini food processeor made the "chopped fine" ingredients a snap. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Favourite Christmas recipe to substitute ingredients with. I used spiced rum the first time and like Cece says it is a wonderful flavour. Try using Irish Cream or Kalua next time! I had to play around with the amount of milk and sugar to use since they are heavy and sweet enough on their own but it was worth it in the end. This past Christmas my daughter and her friends used marshmallow vodka and rolled them in graham crackers. I was not a fan of it but they loved it and yes they were all 19 and over which is the legal drinking age here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Oh my goodness! I just made these today and they have been in the fridge for a few hours. I went ahead and tasted one and just went crazy! This is an extremely delicious and simple recipe. I cannot wait to share them with my family tomorrow at our Christmas Eve celebration. The only thing I changed was I substituted Bourbon for Brandy because my family is a bunch of Bourbon drinkers! Thanks so much for sharing. This is a fantastic keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MusicalCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
It is a great recipe. At first the mixture was a bit sticky so I chilled the mixture for a 15 min before rolling it. I loved the texture of the rum balls. It is very addictive! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I used Godiva Liquor istead of the brandy....fantastic. I did another batch using Irish Cream..also great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Best Brandy Balls EVER! I used 12 oz of Vanilla Wafers and added 1/2 cup of Graham cracker crumbs. I also used 1/2 cup of chopped pecans plus a 1/2 cup of Emerald brand glazed walnuts. Just put the nuts together in a food processor for a quick spin and add the chopped/blended nuts to the mixture. Fantastic! For a more pleasant appearance, hand-roll each portion first before rolling in powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maygin Lansdowne
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
super super great, i rolled then in sprinkles, coconut and icing sugar, also did a kids batch subibg the rum for homo milk. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maygin Lansdowne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Grampa's Brandy Alexander

Creme de cacao, chocolate syrup and ice cream make a super-rich cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States