Brandy or Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made this recipe for the holidays. It was good but I didn't get very many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Quite tasty the second day. I made mine with Myers Dark Rum. If you omit the crushed walnuts, roll in additional Nilla wafer crumbs before rolling in the cocoa or 10x sugar. This helps the ball firm up. I put my additional Nilla wafer crumbs in a ziploc baggie and just shook up the balls in there before rolling in the 10x. Make sure you keep these away from the kiddos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I thought the outcome was a little too mushie for my taste, and not quite rummy enough. I prefer something with more crunch. I omitted nuts since my boyfriend is allergic and it's a good thing because he LOVES this recipe. I would make it again for him, but they're safe with me... not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Sorry to spoil the ratings, these looked great but come out very greasy. After doing some research it seems there are two types of Vanilla Wafers - the round plain cookie and the sandwich wafer. I used a box marked "vanilla wafers" although they were the sandwich cookies. Hmmm... I think there needs to be some clarification in the recipe. I am new to Rum/Brandy Balls. I will try the other kind of wafer next time. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_a_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Turned out great! They get better with age. Also, I put the walnuts IN the mixture rather than rolling the balls in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Is this recipe is really great. I only tried a sample batch aat first, just to see how they would come out. When they tell you to let these things set up, you better do it. Anyway, I ended up making about 200 rum balls this holiday season because everyone loved them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomgyrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These are great with rum..I left out the walnuts & rolled them in confectioner's sugar..very rich & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Very easy to make, especially with a food processor and a small scoop with a release. Chilling the chocolate mixture for at least 30 minutes before attempting to form the balls made the process much easier/less messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Made this last year for cookie exchange. Fun to make with friends too and a simple recipe. Will definitely make again and again - and luckily I can't lose the recipe thanks to allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURDYPEARLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Grampa's Brandy Alexander

Creme de cacao, chocolate syrup and ice cream make a super-rich cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States