Brandy or Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very tastey! I followed some ideas of the others and added some of the walnuts to the mixture. I only found a 12 oz. box of Nilla Wafers so that's all I used. Chopped the Nilla Wafers and the nuts in a grinder for my own sanity. I also made sure to refrigerate the chocolate mix before forming the balls. I used a "tiny ice cream scoop" with the release handle and it formed perfect shapes. I dropped the balls into a bowl of confectioners sugar and nuts and swirled them around for a good coating. I fit about 4 into the bowl. Worked great and not too messy. I will make these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These came out good. I did chill the mixture for a few minutes before attempting to roll, otherwise it would have been too messy. I also think the next time I will mix some of the chopped nuts IN to the chocolate and nilla wafer mixture - they just didnt stick that well to the out side of the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
LOVED IT!! Used Captian Morgan's spiced rum and it was a wonderful flavor. Had tons of people tell me it was the best rum balls they had ever had! Have given three people this recipe so far. This one goes in my favorites for sure! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cece

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made this recipe for the holidays. It was good but I didn't get very many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Quite tasty the second day. I made mine with Myers Dark Rum. If you omit the crushed walnuts, roll in additional Nilla wafer crumbs before rolling in the cocoa or 10x sugar. This helps the ball firm up. I put my additional Nilla wafer crumbs in a ziploc baggie and just shook up the balls in there before rolling in the 10x. Make sure you keep these away from the kiddos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I thought the outcome was a little too mushie for my taste, and not quite rummy enough. I prefer something with more crunch. I omitted nuts since my boyfriend is allergic and it's a good thing because he LOVES this recipe. I would make it again for him, but they're safe with me... not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Sorry to spoil the ratings, these looked great but come out very greasy. After doing some research it seems there are two types of Vanilla Wafers - the round plain cookie and the sandwich wafer. I used a box marked "vanilla wafers" although they were the sandwich cookies. Hmmm... I think there needs to be some clarification in the recipe. I am new to Rum/Brandy Balls. I will try the other kind of wafer next time. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_a_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Turned out great! They get better with age. Also, I put the walnuts IN the mixture rather than rolling the balls in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Is this recipe is really great. I only tried a sample batch aat first, just to see how they would come out. When they tell you to let these things set up, you better do it. Anyway, I ended up making about 200 rum balls this holiday season because everyone loved them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomgyrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These are great with rum..I left out the walnuts & rolled them in confectioner's sugar..very rich & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Grampa's Brandy Alexander

Creme de cacao, chocolate syrup and ice cream make a super-rich cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States