Brandy Flamed Peppercorn Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is a classic French method for cooking steak, and really, REALLY delicious! Adding mushrooms to the sauce is an excellent plan. I'm amused by the people who make vast changes to this recipe, and then complain that it didn't turn out the way they expected. Ummm...try following the recipe! And if you don't like pepper, maybe something called "peppercorn steak" won't please you...If you like classic French peppercorn steak, this is the recipe for you. Cook it EXACTLY as described in the recipe. Cooking this sort of steak in a frying pan is a wonderful change from the grill! The sauce is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Awesome. Simply awesome. I cooked the steak as directed until they were as desired (medium), did the brandy trick, then removed steaks and continued from there, instead of removing later. The one gripe I have: all the comments about 3 foot high flames. What proof and how much extra brandy are you using?? There is no *poof* and maybe a 4 inch flame. I got my buddy to come check out what I was doing, only to sorely disappoint him with lame pyrotechnics. You guys sure you didn't mistakenly drink all your brandy and drunkenly add grain alcohol as a substitute??? EDIT: lol... Ok, I was a little harsh with the flame effects. However, I have found the trick: The liquid needs to reduce to very minimal levels compared to the amount of brandy added. With a higher ratio of brandy to wine sauce, you have a MUCH better flame, which not only adds to the effect of cooking the meal, but also singes the fat and adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuclear Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
As a personal preference I grilled the steaks on the BBQ and made the sauce separately. I softened the onion & garlic before adding the liquid's to the sauce and cooking it for about 15 mins. The sauce got nice and thick and the flavour was delicate but beautiful. It worked tremendously well with the peppery steak. I think I will add some mushrooms to the sauce next time to soak up more of the yummy flavour. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
We tried this last night and loved it. The only complaint that we had was that there are no FIRE restriction heights to the brandy part for things above the stove. The recipe was prepared as writen and could not ask for a better way to prepare steak. It was so good that we will be making it again and again. Thanks for this one. Oh yeah, This recipe will turn the worst cook into a five star chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I found it easier to make the sauce if I removed the steaks after flaming them. This way the sauce can thicken and the steaks won't get overdone. I used 2 ribeyes and added 1 cup sliced mushrooms to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I made this today and as it was cooking, the aromas in the kitchen were wonderful! My fiance' and I took one bite of the delicious steak and sauce and are now hooked on this wonderful dish. He said it is definitely a "keeper", and I couldn't agree more! The only thing I changed in the recipe was to add mushrooms and I also doubled the yummy sauce. I served it with mashed potatoes and we put some of the sauce on top of them. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was EXCELLENT!!! This is the best steak recipe I have tried so far! I loved the sauce; I simply added some mushrooms, and let the sauce simmer a while longer. I also used coarse ground pepper instead of the crushed peppercorns. I used bourbon instead of brandy, which worked just fine. Make sure you use a household lighter (the torch kind) to light the steaks, or else you'll set your hand on fire. I served this with boiled spinach and balsamic red potatoes to absorb the extra yummy sauce. My husband was very impressed! A+++! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Wow! What an exceptional steak recipe! Definitely one of the best steak recipes on allrecipes.com. The red wine / garlic sauce is absolutely stunning. I skipped the salt, sugar and shallots and added extra wine to make the sauce stronger in taste and added also extra brandy simply for maximum effect. Although the black peppercorn is an excellent ingredient, may I suggest capers as a possible replacement for those who don't like their steak too spicy. Safe to say, I will definitely make this stunning recipe again. Congratulations to the creator of this tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Excellent flavor and extremely tender.My only complaint is that my sauce turned out looking nothing like the ones pictured but the flavor was still outstanding. I will cut down on the heavy cream next go around to see if this improves the color and texture of the sauce. I left out the "optional" sugar and the lemon pepper due to personal preference but other than that I followed this recipe to a T. This was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
UNREAL good!!! I agree with the reviewer who said it almost made her cry. The first thing that ever came out of my kitchen that I felt was truly restaurant worthy. AND it was relatively easy. Even my culinary cretin children loved it and complained when it was all gone (which happened quickly). The only variations I used were course ground instead of cracked pepper, the addition of a 1/2 cup of Shitake mushrooms, skipping the sugar, and setting aside the steaks to make the sauce - I returned them to the pan for about 2 minutes per side before serving. Truly an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sensational Steak Sandwich

The slow cooker is the key to these tender sirloin steak sandwiches.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States