Brandy Flamed Peppercorn Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I made this tonight and it was pretty good and fun to make. The steak came out alittle salty. Next time ill cut out some salt. Ill be making this again next week :-) also, cooking it on med-hi heat seem to hot and burnt the outside. So i had to really cut the cooking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This sauce is awesome! I had a little difficulty getting my peppercorns to stick, but fabulous nonetheless. Grilling might be a nice option, but I worry about the lost flavor in the sauce should they be cooked seperately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Amazing recipe! I made this as written for my husbands birthday dinner and became the "best chef ever"! A couple of suggestions though to maintain it a 5-star recipe: As others have said, cut back on the peppercorn, it is very overpowering if you don't. Also, to get the best flavor, use good steaks with very little fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was so good and taste. Although I couldn't get the steak to flame up but that didn't affect the recipe at all. Next time I'll add mushrooms and let them soak in the sauce to absorb the flavors. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
We found the flavor very overwhelming, but it is a good recipe. Next time I will use course black pepper to tone it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
NO FLAVOR! Holy smokes it blew my taste buds away. I made it almost exactly. I took the steaks out before I added the cream. My guests loved it and, the kids loved it and I will make it again. Maybe next time I'll put in the mushrooms. Thanks for posting this amazing recipe. I agree...this was so good I could have cried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Pearce-Champion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Lake, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
The steaks were OMG great and came out tender! My boyfriend was excited over the wonderful auroma of the wine and brandy along with the steak that came out of our kitchen. He says that recipe was wonderful. We'll make it again, definetly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floressa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This is quite possibly the BEST steak I have ever had-- and boy am I picky about my steaks. It is so juicy and cuts just like butter. I make this about once every other week and I don't change a thing. 5 STARS FOR SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is a classic French method for cooking steak, and really, REALLY delicious! Adding mushrooms to the sauce is an excellent plan. I'm amused by the people who make vast changes to this recipe, and then complain that it didn't turn out the way they expected. Ummm...try following the recipe! And if you don't like pepper, maybe something called "peppercorn steak" won't please you...If you like classic French peppercorn steak, this is the recipe for you. Cook it EXACTLY as described in the recipe. Cooking this sort of steak in a frying pan is a wonderful change from the grill! The sauce is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This was very fun to make. The sauce tastes exactly like beef stroganoff, which was slightly disappointing, but it did taste very good. We had to add more wine when cooking the steaks because it was drying up. Plus, lighting food on fire is always a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States