Brandy Flamed Peppercorn Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Very tasty! Note to self - make sure you flame the brandy before adding the cream. Also- too much peppercorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabanana23
Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I followed the recipe accordingly and it wasn't that great. The steak wasn't very flavorful and there was not much sauce. However since it received such good rating, I will give it another try. Next time I'll use sirloin instead of market steak and put more peppercorn on it. I may even sear the meat first so that it has a nice crust and then make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This recipe was was WONDERFUL! The sauce, WOW! My 6 year old and and my husband loved it. We were done with our steak and looking for other things to enjoy the sauce with...we smothered our baked potatoes in it! This is my first review but I am so glad I waited to do it for this recipe :) I used to love in Europe for 13 years and this brought back so many memories! I will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Excellent! Fiance LOVED this and said I can make this ANYTIME. And I got a kick out of lighting the contents of the pan on fire!haha My only change next time is to cook the steaks 6 minutes on each side...I did 7 on one and 8 on the other and it was just a tad bit more done than we usually order (we like medium).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.lisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Really REALLY good. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NinaMN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I couldn't resist to try this recipe when it ended up in my inbox. It was absolutely delicious!! It's truly gourmet style yet very easy to make. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was very good and different. I did not have brandy so I substituted Southern Comfort. Bourbon would work well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This was definitely a restaurant quality steak! It was awesome. It really WOWed my husband! I felt like a gourmet cook after making this. I used whiskey as I didn't have brandy and it worked out just fine. I also used a light cream. Next time I will use less pepper it was quite a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I liked this dish, but found it difficult to cook steak the way I like it in the frying pan. You have to time it just right when putting in the alcohol and lighting it on fire. Steak ended up being almost medium well and I like my steak medium rare. Will adjust next time. Also, the sauce was a little bland so next time I will add something (maybe garlic powder) at the end to give it a little more zip. I used Jim Beam Bourbon which gave it a yummy taste. Would be awesome with mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I made this last night. It was "the best". Very classy too!! I made it exactly as instructed and have no reason to change a thing. I usually don't prepare steaks at home because they sometimes don't turn out as I would like. With the price of a good steak possibly not turning out to perfection, I'd rather go to a restaurant and have them fix it, then be disappointed. This steak recipe is one I will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States