Brandy Flamed Peppercorn Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Maybe not the easiest, but most certainly the yummiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Delicious! Used filet mignon steaks (more tender meat and way less cooking time). Did not have Brandy so used cognac. A wonderful fast, easy and elegant meal. Will make again and again! Many Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Awesome. Simply awesome. I cooked the steak as directed until they were as desired (medium), did the brandy trick, then removed steaks and continued from there, instead of removing later. The one gripe I have: all the comments about 3 foot high flames. What proof and how much extra brandy are you using?? There is no *poof* and maybe a 4 inch flame. I got my buddy to come check out what I was doing, only to sorely disappoint him with lame pyrotechnics. You guys sure you didn't mistakenly drink all your brandy and drunkenly add grain alcohol as a substitute??? EDIT: lol... Ok, I was a little harsh with the flame effects. However, I have found the trick: The liquid needs to reduce to very minimal levels compared to the amount of brandy added. With a higher ratio of brandy to wine sauce, you have a MUCH better flame, which not only adds to the effect of cooking the meal, but also singes the fat and adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuclear Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
There was nothing "wrong" with this recipe....but I just didn't like it very much. I found it lacking in flavor. We probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I added sliced portobello mushrooms right after adding the wine (I used Chianti). As for the brandy, I had to use Jim Beam instead- it still turnout out wonderful. My husband really enjoyed the sauce, but I think next time I'll let it cook a bit more, as I wasn't too fond of the crunch from the shallots. Overall, it was quite good. My cut of steak wasn't that good, and only about 3/4" thick, so I think it would have been better with a sirloin or filet. Nonetheless, the sauce more than makes up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Very tasty! I do substitue the heavy cream for evaporated skim milk for a much healthier alternative. The resulting "gravy" is a little thin (perhaps bc of the swap?). Regardless, nothing a little cornstarch doesn't resolve, and the end result is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Made these for dinner last night and was very impressed on how easy it was to make and it was also very good. The only thing that I missed was the chargrilled taste you get from the grill. I think next time I will start it out on the grill for a couple mins just to get the nice outer crispness then finish it in the skillet. also I think I will use another red wine only had merlot on hand and you couldnt really taste it. Other than that it was very good. Thanks to the creator! Now the test is to see if my anti-steak eating husband will eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Awesome. We followed the recipe exactly as it stated. It turned out good, one word of warning, when you light it on fire be careful! we didn't know it would make such a huge flame right off the bat! haha! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Very tasty! Note to self - make sure you flame the brandy before adding the cream. Also- too much peppercorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabanana23
Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I followed the recipe accordingly and it wasn't that great. The steak wasn't very flavorful and there was not much sauce. However since it received such good rating, I will give it another try. Next time I'll use sirloin instead of market steak and put more peppercorn on it. I may even sear the meat first so that it has a nice crust and then make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States