Brandy Flamed Peppercorn Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Amazing. The sauce is one of the best I've ever tasted. I did not have the shallots or green onions but otherwise made it exactly as suggested. The sauce started to look a little ugly half way through cooking the steak but it came together nicely after the cream was added. The brandy did create a spectacular flame (about 18" high and as wide as the skillet). I had a large lid and my small fire extinguisher on hand, just in case I needed them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
My husband and I used this recipe, as is, for our Valentines Day dinner, it turned out perfect!!! I wouldn't change a thing. Tip to the wise, don't put your face over the pan when you light it :) Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blkimmel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
As previous reviewers, I'm literally weeping. This recipe is sooo good! We invariably get a couple of packages of sirloin steaks in the 1/4 beef we order each fall from our local beef-grower-buddy up here in NW MN and, until now, we've never had a good recipe for them. Well, this is it! I didn't have any green onions or shallots on hand, so just wilted some of my last fall's garden Copra storage onions (chopped) in the micro and added them to the sauce when I turned the steaks. I followed the rest of the recipe to the "t". The brandy flamed famously with my husband standing, nervously, nearby with a damp towel - he was so funny. This is FAB! The sauce is to-die-for! I'll definitely make this again! Thanks for posting this, TFRIESEN !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I didn't have brandy, used Knob Hill Bourbon and it was great. Will use again and share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was super! Followed the recipe, be careful when lighting the brandy, flames get about 1ft high but burns out quick. Light on fire a raw spagetti noodle to light your brandy for safety. We will be making this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni 77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Excellent flavor and extremely tender.My only complaint is that my sauce turned out looking nothing like the ones pictured but the flavor was still outstanding. I will cut down on the heavy cream next go around to see if this improves the color and texture of the sauce. I left out the "optional" sugar and the lemon pepper due to personal preference but other than that I followed this recipe to a T. This was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Excellent recipe! Just tried it again and it is a hit with the family. I made one variation at the end. After the brandy flame died, I transfer the steaks to another hot dry pan (no oil or sauce.) I just let the steaks cook on the hot pan for 2 - 3 min a side to get some charring and some parts crispy. I do the sauce separately as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
An Excellent Recipe for Impressing one's Guests. I use this receipe for minute steak or rouleden as well. Also use white Wine or Red. A Great Way to Fancy Up Inexpensive Steaks. I usually serve with Mushrooms, Baked Potaoe and Salad. Family and Friends just can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TribePride
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Really delicious way to have steak, but make sure you like pepper before trying this! I've made it three times now, and here's what I've decided are my personal preferences: 1) I double the red wine and garlic so that the sauce doesn't all boil away and leave me with slightly viscous char (which happened the first time), 2) I keep the heat at medium, otherwise everything burns, at least in my pan (at this heat, I cooked my steaks 6 min. per side and it came out medium), and 3) I don't like crunchy shallots in this, so I throw mine in to cook when I flip the steaks. I looooove how fancy it looks when it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Loved this steak. I did not have any brandy so I skipped that part but it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States