Brandy Flamed Peppercorn Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I didn't have brandy, used Knob Hill Bourbon and it was great. Will use again and share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was super! Followed the recipe, be careful when lighting the brandy, flames get about 1ft high but burns out quick. Light on fire a raw spagetti noodle to light your brandy for safety. We will be making this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni 77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Excellent flavor and extremely tender.My only complaint is that my sauce turned out looking nothing like the ones pictured but the flavor was still outstanding. I will cut down on the heavy cream next go around to see if this improves the color and texture of the sauce. I left out the "optional" sugar and the lemon pepper due to personal preference but other than that I followed this recipe to a T. This was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Excellent recipe! Just tried it again and it is a hit with the family. I made one variation at the end. After the brandy flame died, I transfer the steaks to another hot dry pan (no oil or sauce.) I just let the steaks cook on the hot pan for 2 - 3 min a side to get some charring and some parts crispy. I do the sauce separately as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
An Excellent Recipe for Impressing one's Guests. I use this receipe for minute steak or rouleden as well. Also use white Wine or Red. A Great Way to Fancy Up Inexpensive Steaks. I usually serve with Mushrooms, Baked Potaoe and Salad. Family and Friends just can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TribePride
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Really delicious way to have steak, but make sure you like pepper before trying this! I've made it three times now, and here's what I've decided are my personal preferences: 1) I double the red wine and garlic so that the sauce doesn't all boil away and leave me with slightly viscous char (which happened the first time), 2) I keep the heat at medium, otherwise everything burns, at least in my pan (at this heat, I cooked my steaks 6 min. per side and it came out medium), and 3) I don't like crunchy shallots in this, so I throw mine in to cook when I flip the steaks. I looooove how fancy it looks when it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Loved this steak. I did not have any brandy so I skipped that part but it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly as written just so I could review it. It turned out much better than I expected. The sauce is one of the best I've tasted, a wonderful balance of flavors. My only complaint is the sirloin. Don't get me wrong, this is the best sirloin I've ever tasted, but this recipe deserves a much better cut of beef. I'll give it a bit of an upgrade next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Oh my goodness. Quite possibly the best steak I've had, certainly the best I've made. A bit of work, but it's a fun recipe and so delicious. My girlfriend who's grown up eating a lot of steak said it was one of the best she'd had too. 5 stars all the way. No idea how much the brandy does for the flavor, but it was pretty exhilarating to see a huge plume of flame engulf the microwave for a second!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Great sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEETIMEVAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sensational Steak Sandwich

The slow cooker is the key to these tender sirloin steak sandwiches.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States