Brandy Flamed Peppercorn Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I did this steak separately from the sauce, using just the crushed peppercorns and a light sprinkling of kosher salt. I omitted the lemon pepper because it seemed total contrast to the red wine and brandy later used, plus it would oversalt the beef. Also if you are using a good quality, well marbled piece of beef, you do not need to cover the taste of the meat itself dramatically. Mushrooms were a great addition, and I allowed them to cook longer in the sauce so they were juicy and tender with taste. Overall I think it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefofthevalley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Magadan, Magadan Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
looked great and came together nicely but had no taste whatsoever i was really diappoiinted and hubby wouldn't even eat his steak i gave 2 stars only for appearance the sauce doesn't rate at all sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Mixed reviews between my husband and myself. I also added mushrooms, but I didn't have any cream on hand to finish off the final touches. Although I've enjoyed previous peppercorn steams, I found the quantity of peppercorn here a bit overpowering. I'll try another kind next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was really good. I used dessert wine instead of the red and omitted the white sugar. Grand Marnier was my brandy of choice. I only gave 4 stars because the peppercorns were a little crunchy. Will cook longer on lower heat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I hadn't prepared this recipe in some time, but did last night for valentine's. It's even better than I remember and the sauce is so tasty. Serve with rice or potatoes to soak up some of this savory sauce! I added mushrooms to the pan when the steaks are placed in, just because we love mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Very, very good. I used a Pittsburgh technique on the sirloins to lock the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I was a bit disappointed because I used brandy but still did not get much of a flame. Adding mushrooms near the end is a good idea. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Didn't have any brandy, so couldn't do the flame, but delicious anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I must have used the wrong grade of sherry, because my recipe did not flame. The flavor is pretty good, but it was so tender!! I will play around with the recipe and let you know if I come up with something better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was a really wonderful recipe for a special dinner. I think next time I might cut down a little on the peppercorns, because it was quite a lot! I did not rub them into the piece of steak for my 7-yr-old, and she enjoyed it. The sauce was really tasty. We didn't have any brandy, so I just skipped that part. I considered using a different licqeur, but I was afraid I'd ruin the recipe. We really enjoyed having something so nice and different from our regular routine. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States