Brandy Flamed Peppercorn Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
looked great and came together nicely but had no taste whatsoever i was really diappoiinted and hubby wouldn't even eat his steak i gave 2 stars only for appearance the sauce doesn't rate at all sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Mixed reviews between my husband and myself. I also added mushrooms, but I didn't have any cream on hand to finish off the final touches. Although I've enjoyed previous peppercorn steams, I found the quantity of peppercorn here a bit overpowering. I'll try another kind next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was really good. I used dessert wine instead of the red and omitted the white sugar. Grand Marnier was my brandy of choice. I only gave 4 stars because the peppercorns were a little crunchy. Will cook longer on lower heat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I hadn't prepared this recipe in some time, but did last night for valentine's. It's even better than I remember and the sauce is so tasty. Serve with rice or potatoes to soak up some of this savory sauce! I added mushrooms to the pan when the steaks are placed in, just because we love mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Very, very good. I used a Pittsburgh technique on the sirloins to lock the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I was a bit disappointed because I used brandy but still did not get much of a flame. Adding mushrooms near the end is a good idea. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Didn't have any brandy, so couldn't do the flame, but delicious anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I must have used the wrong grade of sherry, because my recipe did not flame. The flavor is pretty good, but it was so tender!! I will play around with the recipe and let you know if I come up with something better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was a really wonderful recipe for a special dinner. I think next time I might cut down a little on the peppercorns, because it was quite a lot! I did not rub them into the piece of steak for my 7-yr-old, and she enjoyed it. The sauce was really tasty. We didn't have any brandy, so I just skipped that part. I considered using a different licqeur, but I was afraid I'd ruin the recipe. We really enjoyed having something so nice and different from our regular routine. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This was awesome. I used cognac instead of brandy, and I seared the steaks on the grill before cooking them in the sauce. I added mushrooms, and I put them into the sauce with the shallots and green onions earlier than suggested in the recipe. We will definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sensational Steak Sandwich

The slow cooker is the key to these tender sirloin steak sandwiches.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States