Brandy Butter (Hard Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Excellent. I piped this into rosettes on a parchent lined baking sheet and stuck them in the freezer. Served them with plum pudding and a brown sugar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This is delicious. I'd never had hard sauce before and didn't know what to expect. I used bourbon because that was what I had on hand. Don't be confused by the word "sauce." This comes out as a spread. I served this with Chocolate Plum Pudding found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The texture and flavor were excellent until I started putting in the zest. The orange flavor was overwhelming to my Plum Pudding, and the brandy curdled the mix. No one else had curdling trouble so that must just be me, I didn't take a star off for that. I can see how this sauce would be delicious on cinnamon rolls but it was just too much for plum pudding. Leaving out the juice and zest and adding the brandy a little at a time to taste would have yielded a perfect sauce. Oh well. Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Pretty yummy. This recipe makes a LOT of the brandy butter. Next time I think I'd cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was delicious--I didn't have an orange on hand, so used 1 t. vanilla instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sudie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I wasn't taken by this. It seemed to add little to my dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
The Hard Sauce is sensational with peach, or any fruit cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Food processor yields totally wrong texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frederic de Sibert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States