Brandied Shrimp with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This is the best pasta I've ever made. Better than most I've had at fancy restaurants. One important thing that made it good is that I used whole shrimp with heads and cooked them without peeling them. This way, the roe in the head adds a really nice flavor, 10 times better than peeled shrimp. I also only used about 2tbsp of butter instead half a cup. Make sure you use the ripest tomato you can find and use the wine that you will drink with dinner instead of cheap table wine. In my househould we rarely make the same recipe twice, but my husband has already asked me to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
EXCELLENT! Would rate it a ten if I could! We used large frozen shrimp, organic spinach fettucine, and fresh tomatoes as well as the other ingredients as they were listed. Very quick to prepare. Reading the recipe I thought there might not be enough sauce, but there was plenty of nice (very rich) creamy cheese sauce. I was a little concerned about igniting the brandy since I have never done this before, but it was very safe and easy to do and I wouldn't want anyone to pass on this recipe because of this step. This dish tasted like something you would pay a lot for in a fine restaurant. Wonderful!! Thank you for the delicious and easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I will serve this easy and elegant dish again for dinner guests. I combined scallops with the shrimp and also added fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This recipe is quick, and easy to prepare. It's also nice that it's made up of items that normally have in my kitchen. I did make a few adjustments. Didn't have fresh tomatoes on hand so I used sun-dried tomatoes, with good results. Also had 1-1/2 #'s of shrimp so I increased the wine, and butter for more sauce. Served over linguine, but would imagine that it would taste great on it's own with sourdough bread to dip into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Excellent pasta dish! The combination of flavors are great. We liked that it was a light sauce rather than a heavy cream laden sauce for a change. I've made this many times. Some changes I've made are using bowtie pasta. The shape holds the sauce and mixes with the shrimp better. Also I've mixed shrimp and scallops and it is equally great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
The iron chef himself would be impressed! The delicant flavor of the shrimp with the hint of brandy is the perfect entree to impress others without slaving for hours in the kitchen. It seems like some people are having problems with the shrimp preparation. Just have it done ahead of time at the market! This is definetly one of the best recipes of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This was fantastic! We used Thin Spaghetti instead of Fettucini. I served it at a dinner party and it was a huge hit! Easy, fun and dee-lish! For the leftovers I had some asiago cheese in the fridge, so I added a few sprinkles. Yum! (one reviewer gave this a low rating because of "the time it took to de-vein the shrimp"...don't worry, you can buy them de-veined)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This dish is excellant! I tried it with Sun Dried Tomatos and it added such flavor as well. All my friends love it, plus it is easy and quick to make. Way to go Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Loved this recipe. Doubled it for a dinner party and it was a hit. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
One thing that I love about recipes like this is that they are so infinitely customizable. I love this recipe. Usually when I make it, I have a few simple changes - I leave out the alcohol and I add some fresh lemon juice and about a teaspoon of capers at the end (the capers give the pasta a nice bit of saltiness). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States