Brandied Shrimp with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This is the best pasta I've ever made. Better than most I've had at fancy restaurants. One important thing that made it good is that I used whole shrimp with heads and cooked them without peeling them. This way, the roe in the head adds a really nice flavor, 10 times better than peeled shrimp. I also only used about 2tbsp of butter instead half a cup. Make sure you use the ripest tomato you can find and use the wine that you will drink with dinner instead of cheap table wine. In my househould we rarely make the same recipe twice, but my husband has already asked me to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Loved this recipe. Doubled it for a dinner party and it was a hit. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This recipe is quick, and easy to prepare. It's also nice that it's made up of items that normally have in my kitchen. I did make a few adjustments. Didn't have fresh tomatoes on hand so I used sun-dried tomatoes, with good results. Also had 1-1/2 #'s of shrimp so I increased the wine, and butter for more sauce. Served over linguine, but would imagine that it would taste great on it's own with sourdough bread to dip into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I will serve this easy and elegant dish again for dinner guests. I combined scallops with the shrimp and also added fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I found this recipe watery, underdone (veggies) with the shrimp overcooked. If I were to prepare it again I think I would saute the onions and garlic in butter until translucent. Add the wine and tomatoes and reduce. The sauce (IMO) needs to be thicker. In a separate fry pan,w/ the olive oil cook the shrimp until just pink then flame with the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This was delicious. It does take a bit of time to peel and devein 31-40 shrimp, but it was well worth it. My only other gripe was that the brandy didn't light up when I put a flame to it, although I didn't have a match (I was using a lighter). I took a full star off because it took so long to peel and devein the shrip... otherwise it would have been a 5-star meal. The rest of the prep work is EASY!! We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
The iron chef himself would be impressed! The delicant flavor of the shrimp with the hint of brandy is the perfect entree to impress others without slaving for hours in the kitchen. It seems like some people are having problems with the shrimp preparation. Just have it done ahead of time at the market! This is definetly one of the best recipes of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This dish is excellant! I tried it with Sun Dried Tomatos and it added such flavor as well. All my friends love it, plus it is easy and quick to make. Way to go Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This was fantastic! We used Thin Spaghetti instead of Fettucini. I served it at a dinner party and it was a huge hit! Easy, fun and dee-lish! For the leftovers I had some asiago cheese in the fridge, so I added a few sprinkles. Yum! (one reviewer gave this a low rating because of "the time it took to de-vein the shrimp"...don't worry, you can buy them de-veined)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Prepared this using frozen, deveined and peeled shrimp as a timesaver. Liked the flavor though I added more brandy. If I make it again, I would reduce the amount of oil and serve immediately. I had to reheat because my husband wasn't home yet and tasted like it lost something in the process. We all had to add additional cheese and black pepper as we ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States