Brandied Shrimp with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Okay- I made this tonight for the first time. Followed the recipe exactly but used sun dried tomatoes soaked in olive oil and some of the white wine. Better than most restaurants by far. Every age group present loved it, even my husband who doesn't eat much pasta and usually refuses shrimp. Get the good dry wine, fresh Parmesan, fresh basil, and medium to large deveined shrimp as suggested. You will NOT regret it! And have everything ready when you start. There is not much time from starting the pasta to finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
nice recipe but if you cook shrimp for 7 min total they are way overcooked and tough. I put the shrimp in for the last 2 min maximum for tender shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This recipe was awesome.... everyone loved it. I tripled it so I had to play around with some of the measurements. The only thing I changed was to add some sour cream at the end to thicken it up. Excellent....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This was my first time lighting a meal on fire (on purpose). I made this exactly to recipe and it was easy and delicious. I didn't have brandy, so I bought an "airplane" bottle from the liquor store--only $1.50.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I love shrimp and I love pasta. But you should never cook shrimp for more than two minutes tops. This recipe yields tough shrimp. I'll try this again, but I'll try to figure a way to dramatically cut the cooking time for the shrimp, while still imparting the garlic, brandy and onion flavors (maybe combining the cooked shrimp with the cooked tomatoes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I made this exactly as written ... with one exception. I did not ignite the brandy. It was terrific. We'll have this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This recipe is so simple, yet truly delicious. I had a bottle of very dry rose wine already opened, so used that instead of the white wine. I would have given it 5 stars except that I found the shrimp a little tough; next tme I would probably give them a shorter cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I make a variation of this with a can of black olives (drained & sliced), more tomatoes (3 c total), more green onions (2 c total), clam juice (2 bottles), and another stick of butter... I think the clam juice really brings the flavors together! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Superb recipe! I have had shrimp pasta at some of the best restaurants in Atlanta and this rivals any one of them for taste and presentation. If you make this just as written, you will NOT be disappointed, but me, being me, I just have to tweek recipes to make them 'mine'. So I often add things like sauted, sliced onions and bell peppers, mushrooms, sun-dried tomatoes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was amazing...it was so easy to prepare. I left out the tomatoes (because I don't like them) and it was just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.GAPeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States