Brandied Shrimp with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
We made this recipe on a whim tonight. Craving shrimp. Kids weren't home, so could indulge in wine in the dish. This one met the requirements, with only a quick trip to the store. Followed another reviewer's advice and used canned petite diced tomatoes, drained. Made the sauce a little more runny, but we had crusty bread to soak it up. Good recipe, but next time we'll make it with half the pepper. Also, our store was out of green onions (!?), so we used a shallot. Tasted great. Our favorite is the champagne shrimp, but we didn't have champagne and it's Sunday - no liquor sales here. This recipe will be a good stand in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Made exactly as written and this is excellent. Be sure to prep everything before you start cooking. Also let the brandy evaporate a little before you light it or you will have huge flames shooting out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I want to like this recipe but I just can't. It was missing something so I was left unsatisfied after I ate it. My husband seemed to like it. I had to remove the shrimp after they were cooked because I didn't want them to get tough. I added the cooked shrimp back into the skillet after the wine and butter were added. Used 1/2 box noodles and 1/3 cup butter but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was very good! After reading some reviews, it seemed like the shrimp needed less cook time. I sauteed the onion & garlic in the oil for a few min. then added the shrimp & brandy. Used sun-dried tomatoes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlbre25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Keep the butter amount the same and eat a lighter breakfast in the morning:) A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Calvin
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Just made mine for the first time minus the brandy and wine and it it came out amazing!!! The Sauce made from the sauted shrimp and onions along with the garlic is a force to be reconned with!!! I highly recommend this dish for a quick and delicious meal... ps- goes great with a little galrlic bread on the side ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Excellent, and even better the next day! It is a little too liquidy, but it tastes so good it doesn't matter. Also, my flambe barely flamed (I was having trouble getting the lighter to work), and it still was incredibly good, so I'm not sure the flambe is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Could have used less butter... Probably half less. Added 1/4 t. to 1/2 t. of cayenne pepper. YUMMY!!! Served with Barilla Plus pasta...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The only change I made was substituting cognac for brandy b/c that's all I had on hand. It was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
An OK meal. I didn't get any flavor off the brandy, not sure if its for show or actually supposed to give it some pizazz - I went with a recommendation from the liquor store so I thought it would work out all right. I tried to substitute a zero cal butter replacement to get a little leaner, but i think it didn't help the flavor any. I will stick with real butter if I make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicy leah maki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States