Brandied Shrimp with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
I really liked this one though I had to doctor it up a bit due to lack of ingredients. Instead of green onions, I sliced up 1/2 a brown onion (browned that prior to the shrimp) and I also used a can of diced tomatoes as opposed to fresh. Good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATANAROGUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Following the advice of previous submitters, (i.e. using de-veined "lazy" prawns, allowing the sauce to reduce before combining with the pasta) this dish turned out spectacularly for me. I shall definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
EXCELLENT! Would rate it a ten if I could! We used large frozen shrimp, organic spinach fettucine, and fresh tomatoes as well as the other ingredients as they were listed. Very quick to prepare. Reading the recipe I thought there might not be enough sauce, but there was plenty of nice (very rich) creamy cheese sauce. I was a little concerned about igniting the brandy since I have never done this before, but it was very safe and easy to do and I wouldn't want anyone to pass on this recipe because of this step. This dish tasted like something you would pay a lot for in a fine restaurant. Wonderful!! Thank you for the delicious and easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This is a nice change from the usual shrimp/pasta dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This was a great recipe. I also used frozen uncooked shrimp from Market Day and this saved a lot of time. I made this for a dinner party and served it w/angel hair pasta that I pre-cooked. It was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Prepared this using frozen, deveined and peeled shrimp as a timesaver. Liked the flavor though I added more brandy. If I make it again, I would reduce the amount of oil and serve immediately. I had to reheat because my husband wasn't home yet and tasted like it lost something in the process. We all had to add additional cheese and black pepper as we ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This was fantastic! We used Thin Spaghetti instead of Fettucini. I served it at a dinner party and it was a huge hit! Easy, fun and dee-lish! For the leftovers I had some asiago cheese in the fridge, so I added a few sprinkles. Yum! (one reviewer gave this a low rating because of "the time it took to de-vein the shrimp"...don't worry, you can buy them de-veined)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This dish is excellant! I tried it with Sun Dried Tomatos and it added such flavor as well. All my friends love it, plus it is easy and quick to make. Way to go Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
The iron chef himself would be impressed! The delicant flavor of the shrimp with the hint of brandy is the perfect entree to impress others without slaving for hours in the kitchen. It seems like some people are having problems with the shrimp preparation. Just have it done ahead of time at the market! This is definetly one of the best recipes of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This was delicious. It does take a bit of time to peel and devein 31-40 shrimp, but it was well worth it. My only other gripe was that the brandy didn't light up when I put a flame to it, although I didn't have a match (I was using a lighter). I took a full star off because it took so long to peel and devein the shrip... otherwise it would have been a 5-star meal. The rest of the prep work is EASY!! We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States