Brandied Shrimp with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Very good. Followed directions exactly. The only thing I would do differently next time is have everything sliced, diced, chopped & ready to go because it was not easy trying to do it when the cooking time is not that long for this dish and you really do not want to overcook shrimp. My eldest son enjoyed igniting the brandy (with my supervision)because it was just like how they do it at a Greek restaurant that we go to. Thanks Steve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
So easy and delicious. It really is just like a restaurant would prepare for you and charge you an arm and a leg. I will definitely make this for company. I can't imagine anyone not loving this recipe. I didn't change a thing and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This recipe is awesome. I did "tweak" it a bit. I sauteed the green onion and garlic ahead of time with 4 slices of bacon in 1 T of Extra virgin olive oil. When I was ready to cook, I cooked the shrimp in the other tablespoon of olive oil and then added the onion/garlic/bacon mixture, then the brandy and flamed it all together. I also used sun dried tomatoes (not the ones in oil, I didn't have them on hand) that had been re-hydrated for 30 min in really not, but not boiling water, and then drained, and squeezed dry. I prepared the rest of the recipe as called for in the directions. My husband said it was good enough to serve to "company".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
WOW! What a great meal! No leftovers. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This meal was excellent, as one of the users said, like something you would have in a fancy restaurant. I didn't change any of the ingredients, however I did use frozen shrimp, already peeled. And igniting the brandy was fun. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Wonderful pasta recipe, like something you would get in a restaurant. I didn't adjust a thing and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
I really liked this one though I had to doctor it up a bit due to lack of ingredients. Instead of green onions, I sliced up 1/2 a brown onion (browned that prior to the shrimp) and I also used a can of diced tomatoes as opposed to fresh. Good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATANAROGUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Following the advice of previous submitters, (i.e. using de-veined "lazy" prawns, allowing the sauce to reduce before combining with the pasta) this dish turned out spectacularly for me. I shall definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
EXCELLENT! Would rate it a ten if I could! We used large frozen shrimp, organic spinach fettucine, and fresh tomatoes as well as the other ingredients as they were listed. Very quick to prepare. Reading the recipe I thought there might not be enough sauce, but there was plenty of nice (very rich) creamy cheese sauce. I was a little concerned about igniting the brandy since I have never done this before, but it was very safe and easy to do and I wouldn't want anyone to pass on this recipe because of this step. This dish tasted like something you would pay a lot for in a fine restaurant. Wonderful!! Thank you for the delicious and easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This is a nice change from the usual shrimp/pasta dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States