Brandied Orange and Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I used half the sugar and it was still fantastic. A big hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I feel this recipe is not worth the extra work. A very similar result can be achieved from a basic cranberry recipe with sugar, water and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
If I could give this six stars I would! It was soo good and made the best leftover turkey sandwhiches ever! I remembered to cut down on the orange zest after I was already boiling all of it! So my liquid was full force buy I pulled out the solid zest and added that to the Cranberry Orange Loaf recipe I made which people had suggested more zest for. Both turned out great and created a nice balance for no waste! I alsu used some of the left over cranberry sauce (I made a double batch) for the Cranberry Pork Roast in a crockpot. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I followed others advice and used less zest, the zest from just 3 large oranges. I would recommend that everyone uses ORGANIC oranges for the zest, as they don't have a wax coating like regular commercial ones do. I used a flat fine grater to remove the zest. I cooked it the sauce for significantly longer to get the right consistency, around 20 minutes I would imagine. My boyfriend found it too sweet and so I added probably another tablespoon and a half of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIE17R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This is awesome. Try using 1/3 cup, instead of 2/3 cup, of orange zest using a microplane grater. Frozen cranberries are fine, just rinse immediately before use, no need to thaw. I also like to add 1/4 teaspoon orange oil along with the brandy at the end. I recommend using a medium saucepan to avoid overboil. This is fabulous on top of Brie. Mix 8 oz cranberry sauce, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, and 1 tablespoon Meyer's dark rum and 1/4 teaspoon fresh grated nutmeg. Spread this mixture evenly on top of an 8 oz Brie round that has some rind trimmed from the top (leaving a 1/3 inch border on top). Sprinkle with some chopped pecans on top and bake Brie at 500 degrees for 5 minutes. Great served with water crackers and apple and pear slices. If you don't want to use rum, you can substitute orange juice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I tried this with dried orange rind. Not a good idea. Well, it would have been OK if I'd used about 1/4th the amt of orange rind...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This was the first time that I have made cranberry sauce and it came out great! The orange zest gives it such a great flavor and the entire dish was gone. Everyone was asking for the recipe. I will make this dish every Thanksgiving from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
A really nice and simple way to make cranberry sauce. This was my first time making this homemade classic and it turned out to be very nice. I would cut, though, a little bit on the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asomante, Aibonito, Puerto Rico
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Fabulous recipe! It received rave reviews from everyone at Thanksgiving. Even was great the next day as a pancake topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States