Brandied Orange and Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I substituted 2-3 tsp of bottle dry orange peel instead of the orange zest. It was such a hit at the Thanksgiving table - there was nothing left. Now, that's something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINTHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
My sister and I whipped this recipe up the night before Thanksgiving and it was a winner. My taste rating is a 4 star because I thought it was just a little off, but everyone liked it so well...that I couldn't bring myself to give it a lower rating. We did have to zest the orange using a grater as I could not find my zester. Anyway, you won't miss with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was good, but I didn't get the method of cooking the zest in 2 cups of water and then draining it to a 1/3 of a cup. Next time, I would just use less water. I also used about 1/2 the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Nice flavor but I like cranberry sauce with more of a orange-y flavor. I'll definitely make this again, I'll just try and add more zest to make it more to my liking. Everyone else that ate it loved it--even my kids who are 3 & 4 years old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I have made this recipe for four years straight... my family loves it and now is requesting it for every thanksgiving! I normally add a little more brandy or a little Jack... to kick it up a knotch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
this is one of the best homemade cranberry sauces i have yet to taste. as i grew up my grandmother and mother always had the canned one which was good. but i made this for the first time 2 years ago and will never go back to canned again. every Thanksgiving my family requests this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I made this for the first time to use at our Christmas in July festivities and it was a runaway best seller!!! I was not able to get fresh or frozen berries here in Queensland Australia so substituted with 2 cans of drained berries. I also reduced the orange zest to 1/3 cup and the sugar to 1 cup. The end result was more like a jelly but I wanted it thick so I boiled it longer than the recipe suggested. The extra sugar present in the canned berries would have contributed to the jelly setting. It had a great flavour and fantastic consistency and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I've made this recipe a few times now and it always gets rave reviews from my guests. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy at Home

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I served this at Thanksgiving. Everyone LOVED it and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
We love this recipe - it has become the family favourite at all the "turkey" holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States