Brandied Orange and Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I actually didn't care for this. It was way too sweet for me and I ended up tossing it out. No one else ate much of it either. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYRDYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
A great cranberry sauce! A bit time consuming getting the zest of 8 oranges (I did a double batch and only did 6 oranges) but well worth the effort. Also used the juice from zested oranges. Has a great orange taste and the brandy really brings it all together. I make a new cranberry dish every year but might have to keep with this one...it got lots of compliments! New comments (one batch recipe): this year we didn't have any orange juice on hand so I used only 1 cup of the orange water. Also used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. The bag of fresh cranberries was about 4 cups and it boiled into a nice consistancy in about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Absolutely the best cranberry sauce you will ever taste. Perfectly sweet & perfectly tart - it doesn't get better than this! 2 tablespoons of brandy does the trick! No disappointment here. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I am not a "big fan" of cranberry sauce but my husband requested cranberry sauce for this years thanksgiving. I browsed the net trying to find an appealing recipe and was interested by all of the positive feedback. I made the sauce tonight as a 'trial' and will be making it again for our first thanksgiving dinner with the family (where I have to cook!) This recipe has a very sweet but tart taste and the brandy brings out many pleasant flavors. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This is the best! I like to try different cranberry sauce recipes, but stopped with this one. I did cut the sugar a bit, but all the zest is what makes it special. My MIL requests this for every holiday dinner since the first time she tasted it. Even all the kids like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is a great cranberry sauce. I don't use grated zest. Instead I use a vegetable peeler to slice some of the orange peel into long strips. After boiling in step 1, I cut/chop some of the orange peel into small pieces. I discard the extra peel. I don't measure my cranberries. I just use 1 whole bag of fresh cranberries. In step 3, I boil for a lot longer (15 mins??). I like my cranberry sauce to be very thick. I usually use an orange flavored brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Christmas dinner was the first time making this recipe what a wonder suprise, delicious. I added walnuts to recipe, yum. today is Jan.1,2008 and made with new year dinner to go with ham... everything! thank you for a recipe I will use forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I've made this recipe for the past few Thanksgivings and I really like the flavor. I like my sauce slightly more jelled than the 10 minute cooking time allows, so I begin checking with spoonfuls on a cold plate at 10 minutes and cook until thicker. This year I cooked it closer to 20 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
flavors are good together but it is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
We found this recipe one Thanksgiving while looking for home made cranberry recipes. THIS recipe is the reason I joined allrecipes.com!!! All I can say is that I don't think I can ever go back to the canned stuff again. My husband either! I made it for him last year and he went back for seconds after years of the canned stuff. The orange zest is a bit much. We use only a tablespoon or two at most. We cut the orange juice in half as well so that the taste is not to tangy and the cranberry taste can come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankiAndPaul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States