Brandied Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Wow, so very good! I added a splash of vanilla, a little nutmeg and cinnamon too! Just enough to bring out all the flavors. This is too die for delicious! Everyone must try! And also added a little less brandy. Perfect! I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this recipe and took it to our Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. Thank you for the tips to reduce the sauce though, that saved me some time. Definately a keeper, will be my sweet potato recipe from now on. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Callander, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Very good - most definitely not your ordinary yams with melted marshmellows on top. These had a distinct flavor that was not rooted in sugary sweetness. Instead, it was much more refined and complex while the dish itself was lighter on the palette than the standard faire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Delicious and different! My son and I really enjoyed these. I agree with some of the other reviewers that you have to cook the sauce down till it loses that strong alcohol flavor and develops a glaze-like consistency. Best sweet potato recipe I've ever tried - definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I made it three times over the Thanksgiving holiday (three different Thanksgivings... mmmmmm) and every time, people wanted the recipe. Its delicious, and I recommend cooking it longer than the recipe says by an extra 20-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I didn't like it (and I'll eat almost anything) and neither did the rest of the family. At first it seemed like the brandy taste was way to strong. What the recipe fails to tell you is that you need to reduce the sauce for awhile until it turns to a soft caramel texture. I tasted the sauce after it was reduced and it was good, so I still had hopes the recipe would turn out. But the sauce (in my opinion) it too strong even after reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This was sooooo good and so much tastier than the mundane marshmellows everyone else uses. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hvy.Mtl.Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is the only sweet potato recipe I use for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Gone are the days of marshmallows on top! The brandy is perfect; over all not too sweet. Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I liked the fresh taste of the sweet potatoes. I will cut back on the butter if I make this again. 11/10 - small changes this year. I prepared them as directed and then spooned them into a small dish the night before, topped with small marshmallows and will reheat and brown prior to dinner. :-9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Sorry, but these were not liked by anyone in my family. We all love sweet potatoes, but the only thing you could taste was the brandy. Easy to prepare, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States