Brandied Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
Took a while for the potatoes to get tender but tasted yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
This is the fastest, easiest dish. And perfectly elegant. Our bottle of brandy sat around doing nothing forever, as we don't really drink that much. After trying it in this recipe, my hubby refuses to have sweet potatoes any other way! Served with green beans and baked ham and biscuits, this has to be one of his all time favorites meals. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was fabulous! I cut the recipe in half, and I shouldn't have, because there are no leftovers. The recipe doesn't say to precook fresh yams or sweet potatoes, but it's necessary. I baked mine instead of stovetop, at 350 degrees for about 1 hour. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was a super-easy recipe and was a big hit at Thanksgiving. I would definitely recommend it. Comments I received were that this recipe had the exact sweetness required for a sweet potato recipe, and that most recipes for sweet potatoes are too sugary. This recipe just enhanced the flavor of the sweet potato and did not overpower it. I think they were cooked in less than 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This was easy and the men in family loved it. The kids did not. They seem to prefer marshmallows. I will fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
These Sweet Potatoes are different, but I prefer a mashed version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
These had a different flavor and everyone loved it. Even my cousin who DOES NOT like sweet potatoes. Only thing i did different was to boil them until cooked before mixing them with the boiing brandy/brown sugar, etc. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This recipe has been updated to include a step for boiling the sweet potatoes, as per the original submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This recipe was awesome!! I only had 1/3 cup of brandy and it still turned out great! Nice change from the marshmallow topped casserole. Even if you don't like sweet potatoes, you'll like this! I served with a thick cut center ham slice and brussel sprouts...it was really good. Thanks! Erin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This recipe was wonderful. I did add alittle more brandy (1 cup for those in my family who needed the little extra holiday cheer ),it was one of the best ways to make sweet potatoes I have found. Also, I soaked the sweet potatoes in this mixture for 24 hours.It really highlighed the brandy. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States