Bran Muffins a la Brian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
These turned out great. I will make them again. The only thing I did different was that I added half and half oil and apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A. Cole
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Made the recipe as written, and it was great! Next time, I'll try subbing some of the oil for applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
We used to be able to buy bran muffins in the shops here in the UK, but they had not been around for years, so this recipe has been a godsend (and better tasting too). I have substituted the wheat bran for oat bran, and in place of molasses I use treacle. It's still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This muffin is amazing! it tastes perfect. i used applesauce instead of the oil and i tried adding a little cinnemon into it too. They turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Thanks for a great recipe! I love bran muffins and was looking for a recipe to make them. I do adjust this recipe somewhat. I substitute apple sauce for the oil, and reduce the brown sugar and molasses a little. Even my 1 1/2 year-old and 4 1/2 year-olds love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
These muffins are AWESOME. The changes I make: 'sour milk' instead of buttermilk (1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar with 1 cup 1% milk), unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, decrease brown sugar to 1/2 cup (or even a little less), whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. They are delicious and very nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Yum! Sweet, very tender, and delicious. I used nectarine sauce for more of the oil (random, I know), but that tasted really good! I also went generous on the raisins. Keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I first made these muffins about 5 months ago. I make a batch every 2-3 weeks. I tried a few recipes before I found this one. I have made a few modifications: 1) Applesauce instead of oil -- I use cinnamon normally 2) 3/4 c. whole wheat flour and 1/4 c. white flour 3) I use powdered buttermilk and add an extra tablespoon of water 4) I wanted LOTS of fruits in my muffin so I add 2 cups of various fruits -very small diced apple, raisins-regular and golden, dried cranberries, dried apricots-cut very small, and I will be adding a small amount carrot shredded the next time I make them - BTW 2 1/2 cups of fruit was to much. THANK YOU BRIAN for a great recipe -- it is a staple around here now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I have been looking for a recipe that calls for regular bran (instead of the bran cereal). This is delicious and easy. The only changes I made were substituting applesauce for the oil and I used half wholewheat flour. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
yummy&healthy!! thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States