Bran Muffins a la Brian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I didn't have buttermilk on hand, but substituted 1tsp of white vinegar in 1 cup milk (let stand for 5 minutes after mixing). Light, fluffy and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
very bland with a texture that is unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Totaly Smert
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Delicious recipe! I used honey instead of molasses. While the muffins were warm out of the oven, I added a teaspoon of a combination of honey, melted butter, and brown sugar to the top of each one. Kept them moist and gooey and delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totaly Smert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe! My man and I love it as a low fat snack. I substitute the oil with apple sauce, use low fat buttermilk and typically add a bit more raisins. To switch things up as I make at least a batch a week, I will sometimes use honey instead of molasses and blueberries with cranberries instead of raisins. Thanks so much for this now staple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These are delicious! Even my teen boys like them. Breakfasts in our house will be much simpler now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I just made this recipe and subbed in whole wheat flour instead of white and added a cup of raisins. These were absolutely delicious! Nice work, Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fit_chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This recipe is great. I did a few changes though. Substituted 1/4c. apple sauce for half of the oil. I used Oat Bran instead of wheat bran. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. And I also added a litte more molasses - maybe 1-2 tsp more. Oh, and used 1% milk with 1 tbsp lemon juice for the buttermilk. I may use all apple sauce instead of oil next time. Really great flavour and they weren't flat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Well , I always feel pretty lame rating a recipe low when everyone else rates it high.....but, this was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
What a yummy muffin. I think the molasses gives it a nice flavour.I'd give it more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~MOMMY~
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
The taste alone is worth five stars, I just had a few little problems with the result. First, they were super flat - I would have hoped that they would be a little more rounded. We didn't care for the raisins - we made half without, and enjoyed that bunch much more. Lastly, while the muffins are super moist, they fall apart quite easily. Not a big deal for at-home use, but if I was making these for a brunch or something, I'd like for them to be a little more stable. Overall, a great recipe though! Will definitely make again with a few changes. **Just made these again with applesauce instead of oil and "white whole wheat" flour instead of white -- they tasted just as great as before, so I'll stick with this healthier version. We love to eat them hot out of the oven with a drizzle of honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States