Bran Muffins a la Brian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe! My man and I love it as a low fat snack. I substitute the oil with apple sauce, use low fat buttermilk and typically add a bit more raisins. To switch things up as I make at least a batch a week, I will sometimes use honey instead of molasses and blueberries with cranberries instead of raisins. Thanks so much for this now staple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These are delicious! Even my teen boys like them. Breakfasts in our house will be much simpler now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I just made this recipe and subbed in whole wheat flour instead of white and added a cup of raisins. These were absolutely delicious! Nice work, Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fit_chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This recipe is great. I did a few changes though. Substituted 1/4c. apple sauce for half of the oil. I used Oat Bran instead of wheat bran. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. And I also added a litte more molasses - maybe 1-2 tsp more. Oh, and used 1% milk with 1 tbsp lemon juice for the buttermilk. I may use all apple sauce instead of oil next time. Really great flavour and they weren't flat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Well , I always feel pretty lame rating a recipe low when everyone else rates it high.....but, this was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
What a yummy muffin. I think the molasses gives it a nice flavour.I'd give it more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~MOMMY~
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
The taste alone is worth five stars, I just had a few little problems with the result. First, they were super flat - I would have hoped that they would be a little more rounded. We didn't care for the raisins - we made half without, and enjoyed that bunch much more. Lastly, while the muffins are super moist, they fall apart quite easily. Not a big deal for at-home use, but if I was making these for a brunch or something, I'd like for them to be a little more stable. Overall, a great recipe though! Will definitely make again with a few changes. **Just made these again with applesauce instead of oil and "white whole wheat" flour instead of white -- they tasted just as great as before, so I'll stick with this healthier version. We love to eat them hot out of the oven with a drizzle of honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
These turned out great. I will make them again. The only thing I did different was that I added half and half oil and apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A. Cole
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Made the recipe as written, and it was great! Next time, I'll try subbing some of the oil for applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
We used to be able to buy bran muffins in the shops here in the UK, but they had not been around for years, so this recipe has been a godsend (and better tasting too). I have substituted the wheat bran for oat bran, and in place of molasses I use treacle. It's still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States