Bran Muffins a la Brian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These muffins are delicious! Very moist with a hint of sweetness, and the molasses give the muffins a great rich flavor. I've made these a number of ways and like them best when adding 3/4 cup of quick oats to the dry ingredients for the base muffin. A mashed banana added to the bran/buttermilk mixture is yummy. I have also added a teaspoon of blackberry butter (can get from an Amish store) or any fruit jam to each muffin tin in between scoops of batter in each muffin tin for a nice filling. I have also substituted unsweetened dried apples (soaked in the butter milk for 10 minutes before adding the wheat bran) or a fresh chopped apple for the raisins and it came out great. For a nutritious breakfast, I like to eat these muffins split and spread with almond butter (or peanut butter) with a banana on the side and a glass of milk. A great way to start the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Well , I always feel pretty lame rating a recipe low when everyone else rates it high.....but, this was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Excellent muffins! I like the gooey bran muffins from Mimi's Cafe, but my husband thinks they're too heavy. This recipe had all the sweetness, but was just moist instead of dense. I did use applesauce instead of oil, white whole wheat flour (from King Arthur) instead of all purpose, and increased the molasses to 2 tbsp. and the golden raisins to about 3/4 cup. Baked in jumbo muffin tin (six giant muffins) at 375 for about 25 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe! My man and I love it as a low fat snack. I substitute the oil with apple sauce, use low fat buttermilk and typically add a bit more raisins. To switch things up as I make at least a batch a week, I will sometimes use honey instead of molasses and blueberries with cranberries instead of raisins. Thanks so much for this now staple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is the best muffin recipe! I'm starting a small muffin and orange juice business and using these muffins. I wish that I was one of my customers. I've tried these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Simply delicious. I chose this recipe over the "Classic Bran Muffins" because this one had a little more sugar and molasses that I thought would make a sweeter muffin. I was right. This has the right amt of sweetness. The other recipe would not have enough. Also, left out raisins, don't like them. Overall, moist and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Made exactly according to the recipe (except I used currants, rather than raisins, 'cause that's what I had). Tasty and nicely sweet, in a bran-muffin kind of way. Thanks! People need to realize that bran muffins seldom rise much above the rim of the tin ... it's the nature of the beast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I didn't have buttermilk on hand, but substituted 1tsp of white vinegar in 1 cup milk (let stand for 5 minutes after mixing). Light, fluffy and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
These muffins are AWESOME. The changes I make: 'sour milk' instead of buttermilk (1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar with 1 cup 1% milk), unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, decrease brown sugar to 1/2 cup (or even a little less), whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. They are delicious and very nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I switched out the oil for applesause and added some ground flax seeds, but otherwise followed the recipe the first time I made these. They were tasty but lacking the sweetness I wanted. Next time I made them, I added chocolate chips instead of raisins. I make them almost every week now and can't keep my husband away from them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States