Bran Muffins a la Brian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
We used to be able to buy bran muffins in the shops here in the UK, but they had not been around for years, so this recipe has been a godsend (and better tasting too). I have substituted the wheat bran for oat bran, and in place of molasses I use treacle. It's still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This muffin is amazing! it tastes perfect. i used applesauce instead of the oil and i tried adding a little cinnemon into it too. They turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Thanks for a great recipe! I love bran muffins and was looking for a recipe to make them. I do adjust this recipe somewhat. I substitute apple sauce for the oil, and reduce the brown sugar and molasses a little. Even my 1 1/2 year-old and 4 1/2 year-olds love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
These muffins are AWESOME. The changes I make: 'sour milk' instead of buttermilk (1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar with 1 cup 1% milk), unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, decrease brown sugar to 1/2 cup (or even a little less), whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. They are delicious and very nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Yum! Sweet, very tender, and delicious. I used nectarine sauce for more of the oil (random, I know), but that tasted really good! I also went generous on the raisins. Keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I first made these muffins about 5 months ago. I make a batch every 2-3 weeks. I tried a few recipes before I found this one. I have made a few modifications: 1) Applesauce instead of oil -- I use cinnamon normally 2) 3/4 c. whole wheat flour and 1/4 c. white flour 3) I use powdered buttermilk and add an extra tablespoon of water 4) I wanted LOTS of fruits in my muffin so I add 2 cups of various fruits -very small diced apple, raisins-regular and golden, dried cranberries, dried apricots-cut very small, and I will be adding a small amount carrot shredded the next time I make them - BTW 2 1/2 cups of fruit was to much. THANK YOU BRIAN for a great recipe -- it is a staple around here now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I have been looking for a recipe that calls for regular bran (instead of the bran cereal). This is delicious and easy. The only changes I made were substituting applesauce for the oil and I used half wholewheat flour. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
yummy&healthy!! thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is the best muffin recipe! I'm starting a small muffin and orange juice business and using these muffins. I wish that I was one of my customers. I've tried these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
What did I do wrong? I substituted apple sauce for the oil and lowfat milk soured with 1 tsp lemon juice for the buttermilk, and ended up with flat-topped, sticky, spongey muffins. They taste pretty good, but the texture is just weird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States