Bran Muffins III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I tried this for the first time today and loved them as is. Really yummy, especially out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Very dense and healthy-tasting - in texture and flavor. I used robust (blackstrap) molasses and a milk/vinegar substitute in place of buttermilk. To add interest and a little sweetness, I added 1/2 c. powdered honey, 1/4 cup half'n'half, and 1/2 cup each of raisins, white raisins, chopped dates, and currants. Addictive muffins! I love that no refined sugar is involved. Thanks for a doable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I followed the recipe EXCEPT from reading past reviews I added an extra 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 cup of plumped raisins, 3/4 -1 cup of walnuts(I'm nuts about nuts in everything),1 tsp. of cinnamon,xtra 1/2 tsp of baking soda,1/4 cup of brown sugar and 3 tbs of splenda. The muffin exceeded my expectations, from the ingredients I thought it would taste like cardboard. I just ate two warm from the oven with butter and grape jelly-YUM! Produced 16 medium sized for me. Very fast to whip up for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEVADA753

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Very small muffins (did I mess up?) I only had about 3/4 cup of buttermilk on hand so used nofat plain yogurt for the rest. Also added a cup of raisins - gotta have raisins in my bran muffins. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Absolutely Love it! The only change I made was to add raisins. A great healthy alternative muffin for a snack or breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
after reading of the blandness from other reviewers, i decided to add 2 small ripe bananas and 1 cup of raisins, and these muffins turned out really nice. i also added 1/2 a cup of wheat germ for added nutrition. they are just sweet enough too. very nice for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I'm picky and pregnant, and I needed something healthy for breakfast. These muffins hit the spot. I didn't have raisins on hand, but I wish I did. These muffins are moist and not too sweet. I added candied fruit to a few of em' just to see how they would turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Yum! It totally worked for me but with some vital changes-used whole wheat pastry for the white flour, added 1/2 cup Splenda & 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 tsp cinn & used honey instead of molasses. I also used applesauce for the butter. Don't worry about these changes upping the calories-it stays low & I got 24 muffins out of this. Loved the healthy ingredients. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I had some "All Bran" cereal so threw it in the food processor for the bran part of the recipe. Added 2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 nutmeg, tsp. vanilla, and used applesauce in place of the butter. These baked up like a picture, were fluffy nice and had a nice flavor with the spices. This made 12 regular size and 4 giant size muffins. Very healthy and when you consider the nutrition value w/such few fat grams and the fiber, they are really great! A wonderful breakfast muffin with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
These muffins were pretty good, but a little bland. Next time, I will try adding mashed ripe banana, as another reviewer suggested. I will also try a suggestion from someone else(franconia57)to add raisins, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States