Bran Muffins III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
very good, mine took about 25 min to cook though, but made large muffins :)...also next time will add just a bit of brown sugar for a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I made these for my toddlers story-hour group. they were a hit! Since it was christmas timem I added chopped dates. Oh, also I oddly had no eggs, so I upped the baking soda by a tsp, and used 1/4 cup applesauce and Tbsp of canola oil. I used regular milk instead of buttermilk... they were still aswome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
They were good, not too sweet...i didn't have molasses, had to use corn syrup instead... and I was out of the baking soda so I threw it baking powder instead - mine were a bit dense, but very tasty! I will try them again with the proper ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I have made 2 batches of these muffins now and the last was quite a bit better. I too used 3 tbs of molassis and 3 tbs of honey. I then added 1/2 cup sugar free sweetner. They were lighter and had just enough sweetner. I did put a little nutmeg, cinnamon and vanilla in too for a little extra flavor. We loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frontier_man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcus, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
pretty good base recipe....i did have to add a few things to it. i added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 oil, and then whatever various berries and coconut i had around the house to put in. but im going to make them again with apples and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I like the texture and healthfulness of this muffin, but it is *not* sweet at all. Next time I would try adding at least some raisins or dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These were just ok. I pretty much stuck to the recipe but used regular milk instead of buttermilk and I added some blueberries at the end. Even with the blueberries, the muffins were still not sweet. If I made this again, I'd add some sugar. The consistency seemed a bit off as well. I'm not sure how to improve that. But they were edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosemarie
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very good! I love the description below calling this a no-nonsense muffin, because it's so right! It has just enough sweetness with the molasses. The buttermilk is perfect, and it's quite healthy (you can buy a lower fat version) as it's a probiotic. The acid in buttermilk reacts with the soda, which helps with the leavening (so to get the best results, try making your own buttermilk with vinegar and regular milk or just use buttermilk). I love the huge amount of bran in this recipe! One tip though. I don't know what I did exactly, but somehow the melted (hot) butter hit the raw egg and the egg got cooked in my muffins! So make sure you cool your butter first before adding it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Not very healthy with molasses and buttermilk, so I substituted with 3 tbsp molasses, 3 tbsp wild honey and replaced buttermilk with vanilla soy milk. They taste just as good without the guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Great recipe. I did substitute Splenda for most of the sugar, and used all whole wheat flour instead of any white flour. I also added blueberries to some of the muffins and those were good too. This is a good healthy muffin for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Quinoa Muffins

A great breakfast or lunch recipe for leftover quinoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States