Bran Muffins III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I really like this recipe, I would throw some raisins in next time to add some flavour. The no sugar is great but leaves a little something to be desired :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Great recipe! I used oat bran since I didn't have wheat bran & I added raisins! My husband loved them, moist and tasty he says (I am gluten intolerant so I didn't try them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
These are not my favorite bran muffin for a breakfast or snack because they are not very sweet, but they are good with soup or salad-with some butter for a splurge (how I get my daughter to eat them). I have added a few tablespoons of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Yuck. Tried some of the changes people suggested, and it still didn't help. Why does healthy have to be so nasty?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suyoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great recipe! Very moist. The only changes I made was to add 1/2c brown sugar mixed in with the liquid ingredients, and I exchanged 1/2c of the bran for ground flax. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Delicious! I made as stated but used honey instead of molasses and added some mixed dried fruit. I halved the recipe but now I wish I hadn't! These aren't very sweet, which is exactly what I was looking for, but other people might like them sweeter. I might add just a pinch of cinnamon or something next time for more depth and interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
umm who wants to eat a healthy muffin? i want FAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I tweaked this a lot because I was afraid it would be too dry but wanted it more healthy and to use oat bran and frozen blueberries which I had on hand - 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1 cup oat bran, 1/2 cup wheat bran, added 3/4 tsp baking powder, only 4 tbsp molasses and added 1/4 c brown sugar because some said not sweet enough, 2 eggs to make it more moist, 3 tbsp applesauce instead of butter, 3/4 c frozen blueberries and it was amazing! Still might not be sweet enough for some but it was just right for me and it was really, really, moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was one of the better bran muffins I have made -- I think the molasses makes a big difference in moistness and flavor. I added one very ripe chopped pear (I needed to use it for something) and lots of walnuts, also ground flax seed which I add to most of my muffins. This makes a big batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I was searching all over the internet for a good but very healthy recipe for bran muffins. I tried recipes from other websites including Americas Test Kitchen and Martha Stewart but still couldn't find the right one. This is a VERY GOOD recipe but I made it better and arguably healthier. I used all whole what pastry flour instead of half whole and half white. I used a 50%50% mixture of wheat bran and oat bran. As other posters have noted, the muffins are not very sweet so I also added a 1/4 cup of honey and a 1/2 cup dried berries. I used one egg and one white instead of just the one egg called for in the recipe. I also substituted canola oil for the butter. Lastly, I doubled the size and only got 13 muffins but they rose higher and had the traditional "muffin top" dome. In order to keep the calories down I can only have a half a muffin for breakfast though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States