Bran Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Very good! This recipe is super easy to adapt, too. I use all bran cereal, and I added oatmeal, Red River cereal, raisins, chocolate chips, and walnuts. Instead of shortening, I blended peanut butter and bananas. It was a lot of random experimenting, but they turned out AMAZING! Have fun with these incredibly versatile muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I love these muffins and appreciate the imput from other reviewers. I used Walmart's extra raisin Raisin Bran for all 6 cups. I only used 2 cups of sugar. I next time I will only use 1 1/2 and try the applesauce substitute that others suggested. I am also eager to try some shredded carrots, craisins, half whole wheat flags, and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Absolutely wonderful bran muffins! The only changes that i made were i added half a can of very well drained crushed pineapple and 1-tbsp of baking powder (in addition to the baking soda) as i like really high and light muffins ;) They turned out so beautiful! Just perfect with my coffee this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQsBread

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Delicious! I add raisins or dates and they are nice and plump after sitting in the batter! I also make it with no refined sugars by using stevia powder (24 little scoops)... I do add 1/2 cup molasses though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I think I like the friendship bread muffins better...this was still "good" somehow, but I wouldn't say great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4thefam

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made these muffins and they turned out better then store bought. I did change it a bit though for 24 muffins, instead of all baking soda I did 2 tsp of baking powder and 2 tsp of baking soda. I also put in 1-1/3 cup Kellogg special k as I had no raisin bran. instead of shortening I used 1 cup olive oil. used 2% milk instead of butter milk. I think I will try using Apple sauce next time to make a healthy muffin. Thanks for this recipe it is the best I have every found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These muffins turned out delicious!! I halved the recipe and still got 24 whole muffins out of it. I made a few changes based on other reviewer and what I had: I only used all bran since it was all I had, I used canola oil instead of shortening, which I halved with applesauce. I cut the sugar down and used a bit less than 1/2 cup of sugar and half a cup of honey (for the halved recipe) and I used milk with a bit of lemon juice in it to replace the buttermilk since I did not have buttermilk. The muffins were tender, moist and perfectly sweet. I plan to make this my new permanent recipe and keep them in the freezer for breakfasts and snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was pretty straight forward. I did make some changes, partially based on my own preferences and to make them healthier. Applesauce for the shortening. I used less sugar than what it said and it was still too sweet. I used all bran cereal instead of raising bran and threw in some cranberries as the fruit. It turned out well. I'll definitely be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My husband had a muffin in his hand every time he went to the kitchen. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I brought the servings down to 18, and it made 24 in regular cupcake pans. These are delicious. Only thing different I did was add 2 boxes of the individually packaged raisins to the mix since there wasn't a whole lot in only 1 cup of rasin bran. My boyfriend was happy when he got home and took a bunch to work with him today. Even the kids are eating them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States