Bran Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
My wife and I loved these easy to fix bran muffins. We made a big batch and kept them in the fridge for probably 4 weeks before they started going bad. If you want bran muffins to keep for a while these are the ones to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norm Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederic, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Good flavor, but the texture didn't turn out so good - a bit rubbery, and I was careful not to stir too much. Seems to be too much baking soda -- 5 tsp is an awful lot for this size recipe, and you can taste it in the final product. I would cut back to 4 tsp. I added shredded carrots for an additional tasty touch, and used part whole wheat flour for nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I followed the reviewers advice, used 6 c All-Bran and 1 c raisins ... and the results were very good. I got 5 dozen muffins, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I modified this recipe to be compliant with Phase 2 of the South Beach Diet (low sugar and "good" carbs). I substituted 1 1/2 Cups unsweetened applesauce for the shortening, Splenda for the sugar, and used whole wheat flour in place of the all purpose flour. I added 3 Tbsps Smart Balance butter to enhance the taste since fat is a flavor transfer. In addition, I reduced the baking soda to 3 tsps and added 3 tsps of baking powder. Due to my preference, I used 3 Cups Raisin Bran and 3 Cups of All Bran. The muffins came out excellent! Next time, (and there will be a next time!) I will add 1 Cup of raisins as others have suggested. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Excellent when warm with butter and honey! I used all raisin bran cereal and half white sugar, half brown sugar as other reviewers suggested. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
These muffins are delicious and very moist. Excellent recipe. I did make a few changes as suggested by others. I used 6 cups of bran flakes cereal since that's what I had on hand and in place of the 3 cups of white sugar called for I used 1/2 cup molasses, 1 1/2 cups brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar. I also added 1 tablespoon of cinnamon and 1 teaspoon of nutmeg. Next time I think I'll add raisins and nuts. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
These are very good!! I made them to use up some stale raisin bran. I added raisins too though since the bran cereal I had thinned out the raisins to almost nothing. I used half white and half brown sugar. I also added 4 teasp of cinnamon and 1 teasp nutmeg. Then I made them in mini muffin tins topping each with some chopped walnuts. My kids love them and call them "raisin bran muffins." Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Great recipe! Very moist and delicious. Taking a tip from another reviewer, I used 6 cups of All-Bran cereal and 1 cup of plumped raisins (SunMaid baking raisins) instead of the 2C raisin bran and 4C whole bran cereals. I also substituted SplendaBake for the white sugar to reduce the calories, and no one in my house could tell the difference. This recipe makes a lot of muffins, which freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I made one change in thie ingredients. I used half brown sugar and half white sugar. This recipe is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This recipe is great! I halfed the recipe and used all raising bran, and added 1/2 cup dry oatmeal, reduced the sugar as well. My daughter absolutely loved these! I will be making these REGULARLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States