Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Very, very good. I love the fact that it is packed with healthy ingredients and still tastes good. I made a few changes as suggested and inspired by others. I used 3/4 cups of each wheat bran, whole wheat and all purpose flour. I didn't have apples so I substituted with 1 3/4 cup of applesauce. I increased the vanilla to 2 tsp and omitted the cinnamon since I would be adding semi-sweet chocolate chips. I also substituted the carrots for zucchini. I separated the batter into two portions. One portion, I added chocolate chips and made 24 mini muffins (kids!). The second portion I added raisins and walnuts and made 12 regular muffins for the "adults". Mini muffins baked for 15 minutes. Regular muffins baked for 25 minutes. They turned out great and the kids gobbled up all that goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Try this recipe, its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markleeville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Perfect as-is. I had to bake mine for 25 min to be fully done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
At first I loved these muffins.....but on the second day the apples had molded. The funny thing is I made choc zuchini loaf the same day and was like, 'oh those green bits are just the zuchini - wait- no zuch in this!' Will try again minus the apple. Had stored in plastic container so am stumped as to why the apples turned green so quick, but still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Pretty good, the nuts give it a peanut butter like flavor and the raisins, apples and carrots keep things moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Great muffins! I made some changes: used whole wheat flour, soy milk, 1/2 apple sauce and skip the carrots. Next time I'll reduce brown sugar to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I used garbanzo bean flour instead of oat bran. Not to replace the bran, of course, but to add a bit of protein. I also increased the milk with about 2 tablespoons since I live at 5,500 feet. They are delicious, moist and not very sweet (which I, personally, prefer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chinle, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
So, I did almond milk, unsweetened vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I made the recipe tonight and it was delicious! Only I added 2 banana, 1 c coconut, and 1 c dark chocolate chips. Oh and also cloves and ginger and it stilled turned out great! Definitely saving this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye Gunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My poor little 18 month old has major constipation issues, and these were a huge help to him! It's hard to find a low fat, tasty bran muffin, so thank you for this recipe! I used coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States