Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This is an amazing recipe. From the first time I went to make it, I didn't have all the right ingredients and found I could just about substitute anything, so long as I kept the dry-to-wet ratio the same. However, I have made one improvement, in my opinion, after having made this recipe at least a dozen times now: mix (or sift) all the dry ingredients in one bowl, all the wet ingredients into another (including the raisins and nuts) and then add the liguid to the dry. It requires less stiring this way, mixes more thoroughly and produces a more consistent result. I was also able to reduce the cholesterol and calories with a few minor changes without changing the flavor or texture. I used Enova in place of the vegetable oil, cholesterol free eggs (in the carton) and fat-free powdered milk (mixed according to the directions). No one could tell the difference. I also found it's possible to substitute squash for the carrots or applesauce (1-3/4 cups) for the apples and even to leave out the nuts entirely and increase the raisins to 2 cups (my husband doesn't like nuts). When using applesauce in place of apples, increase the cooking time by 5 minutes. The poster of this recipe deserves my hearty thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
These are a great and very healthy muffin. I made some adjustments: No oil- not neccesary. This recipe is from the back of a bag of flaxseed and they omit the oil in it. I used 1.5 cups of shredded carrots Used wheat bran instead of oat bran- didn't have any on hand Most important: I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose- does not make a huge difference, perhaps a tiny bit more dense. I made 12 medium sized muffins and put the rest of the batter into a round cake pan and frosted it with some leftover cheesecake frosting for a sweet treat-- tastes like carrot cake and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Love! Love! this recipe! Besides the fact that they are super yummy and convenient (keep them in the freezer then pop them in the toaster oven in the morning for about 10 minutes for healthy hot breakfast muffins) the recipe is pretty flexible and hard to mess up so you can have fun with it. A few suggestions if I may: add shredded zuccini for a little more vitamin oompf, use applesauce and more carrot (or zuccini) if you don't have fresh apples, and throw in some fresh blueberries!! I use whole wheat all purpose flour. Remember that it's always better to get whole flax seeds and grind them in your coffee grinder (store unground flax in cool dry place). Flax looses its oh-so-darn-healthyness really quickly. But if you do buy ground store, sealed, in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Thank goodness! I've finally found something that Flax Seed tastes good in! We bought a 92oz (huge) jug of Flax seed that was being sold at a local home and garden show becase the salesman said it would help with lowering my husband's cholesterol. Once we got it home and started adding it to food as suggested, my husband decided that he HATED the taste of flax and refused to eat anything else I tried to "poison" with the stuff. He even threatened to bury it in the backyard. Then I found these muffins...which have been a real life-saver. We may get the rest of our flax seed eaten yet! Thank you for sharing this recipe. Compared to everything else we've tried....they are truly excellent.:)(Eventhough my picky hubby also made me leave out the raisins and the nuts!) They are super moist and great for breakfast on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
OMG! These are the most delicious bran muffins I've ever had or made. Super-moist and sweet and good for you, too! Here's how I tweaked the recipe based on others' suggestions: 3/4 c. spelt flour 3/4 c. whole wheat flour 3/4 cup ground flax seed 3/4 cup oat bran 2 T. Miller's bran 3/4 c. Splenda 1/2 c. dark molasses 2 teaspoons baking soda 1 teaspoon baking powder 1/2 teaspoon salt 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon 1 c. buttermilk 2 eggs, beaten 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 2 tablespoons vegetable oil 2 cups shredded carrots (preshredded, bagged) 1 1/2 c. organic applesauce 1/2 cup raisins 3/4 c. chopped walnuts 1/4 c. sliced almonds I baked them in Texas muffin cup papers so they ended up being quite large. I baked them at 350 for 25 minutes. Serve with a tall, cold glass of cow juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
These muffins are amazing!! They really are a whole meal in one! They are also indestructible. I tried some major experimentation with them as I was lacking in some ingredients and still got an incredible result. I used whole-wheat flour and substituted buckwheat flour for the oat bran. I used 1 cup of milk and only 1 tbsp of oil. I also used 1/3 cup of maple syrup instead of the sugar. I really liked the combination of the buckwheat and the flour. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Maybe I'm just used to chopping things fast, but this was so fast and easy to throw together. I made it after the dinner was in the oven, and had enough time to put these in for the last 15 minutes. They turned out awesome. I cut the recipe in half, and just filled the cups for normal muffins, got 12 out of it (just clearing the top of the papers). Also we didn't have oat bran and substituted whole wheat flour - I worried over that but shouldn't have. We also used half ground flax seeds and half whole, enjoyed the texture more. As was said, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
These were really good, and the carrots made them very pretty. I used honey instead of sugar, and not at much as the recipe called for. I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour, but that might have been a mistake. (Too much fiber!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
Great recipe! I've been trying to get more flax seeds into my diet. Nice tasting healthy muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Very delicious muffins. I am back to print out the recipe again, because I had to give the original to a friend who was over when I had made them and wanted the recipe. You wouldn't even know that they were healthy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States