Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I think these are the best bran muffins I have ever had. This is it, I will keep this as my go to bran muffin recipe from now on. Usually when I have had bran muffins, they are dry and hard to swallow. These are chewy and moist yet dense with fiber and flax goodness. My kids gobbled them all up and had no idea how good they were for them, but I did. In fact, my kids called them cupcakes and that is fine with me! Thank you for sharing this recipe. I have emailed it to my entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I am not sure what went wrong in this recipe but it took forever to bake the muffins and when they came out they did not taste good at all. My 1.5 yr old loves them and since they're healthy we're happy to give them to her but we didn't like them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Excellent! Used pre-shredded carrots from Trader Joes and chopped walnuts instead of the mixed nuts. Made as directed and came out with 18 regular size muffins. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Great Hardy muffins! Freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I love muffins and am always searching for healthy options. These are excellent! I did change the flour to 3/4 cup of all-purpose and 3/4 cup of whole wheat. I also only had walnuts on hand. They were delicious and didn't last long in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Very good. I also changed it up a bit. I put 2 cups of frozen blueberries, grated 3 apples with peels on for extra fibre and 1 carrot. They turned out a lovey purple colour and are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These muffins were great! Came out very moist and delicious. I used already-shredded carrots to save on prep time, wheat bran (because that's what I had in the cupboard), wheat flour to make them even healthier, cranberries (because my husband doesn't like raisins) and chopped pecans. My 16 month old son loves them and my picky husband who doesn't eat "health food" thought they were pretty good. Passed the recipe on to my in-laws and they love them as well. I ended up with 21 muffins so I froze half of them so they don't go to waste. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My husband is a big fan of both bran and flax but wasn't impressed with these. He said not to make them again. I did taste them and found them to be just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I make these for my daughter who is vegan. I substitute soy milk and egg replacer or applesauce. I used unbleached white flour. There is usually more batter than my large 12 cup muffin tin, so I use two Minnie loaf pans which stay in for five minutes longer. Great and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
These muffins are amazing! I made a few changes: omitted the vegetable oil, used whole wheat flour instead of white flour, omitted carrots since I did not have any on hand, omitted the brown sugar and replaced with 1/2 a cup of truvia sugar substitute. I also experimented with a few muffins... I cut up orange slices into small pieces (removed seeds) and combined that with the mixture. My husband thought those came out more moist. Either way they tasted delicious! For my second batch, I did use carrots in the whole batch and then also made a few muffins with cut up frozen strawberries and a few more with frozen blueberries... they came out even more delicious! These muffins are truly indestructible. A tip for the apples: I left the skin on them and cut up the apple into slices and put chopped them in my mini-blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States