Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were great muffins that I feel good about eating! I make a batch for the week and re-heat each morning for breakfast. They are also great mid-afternoon for a quick, filling pick me up. Anyone doing weight watchers, mine calculated out to be 4PP, making 20 muffins. Few changes I made: used quick oats instead of bran, omitted the oil and rasins, used almonds, pastachios and pecans for my mixed nuts, used 2 tablespoons of cinnamun, a pinch of nutmeg, could prob have used more! I like these because while they are a little sweet, you won't find yourself overeating these because they are pretty dense. It's a complete meal with whole grains, veggie, fruit, and protein. Great find!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Love this recipe. Found most other recipes with flax were heavy and my kids didn't enjoy them. Made these and my kids loved them!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I love these muffins. I seem to take a lot of time to shred the carrots, and I grind my flax right before use, so I always make a double batch and freeze them. The paper liners don't work for me with these, as too much of the muffin sticks to the paper, and I want to eat it all! They are great as a midmorning snack, freezer to microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These muffins are out of this world! I made them in mini-muffin form and froze them (mostly to stop myself from eating the entire batch when they came out of the oven :) I'd pop a couple in a ziplock bag and by the time I was headed to work on the train, they were thawed and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These were delicious! I used white whole wheat flour, substituted dried cranberries since I don't care for cooked raisins, and increased cinnamon to 2 1/2 tsp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I baked one batch at the recommended temperature and time, but ended up leaving them in for almost 30 minutes. For the second batch I tried 375º for 25 minutes, and liked the results much better. These are still incredible, though, and the recipe will definitely be a staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
We love these muffins. I add generous amounts of the carrots, apples, raisins and pecans. I also substitute whole wheat flour for the white flour. I bake them in 12 LARGE muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These muffins were (surprisingly) lacking in flavor and were way too moist, to the point of being pasty. With the amount of moisture the shredded carrot and apple add, this recipe could easily do away with the processed white flour for whole wheat instead, which would take care of the pastiness and add flavor. Definitely increase the cinnamon, to one or two tablespoons. It was barely noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Great muffins for being so good for you. Tried substituting applesauce for the apples and it worked great. I've made them several times now, sometimes with or without raisins. Very good! My 2 year old loves them with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These are fantastic, loved by the whole family. I used applesauce in place of the shredded apples; came out moist and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistythayer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States