Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These turned out super yummy! I used whole wheat flour instead of white!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
A tasty high-fiber muffin, and I even used slightly less sugar (but slightly more cinnamon). To avoid the work of shredding the carrots and apples, I simply blended them in the food processor. (Used 1 large carrot and 2 medium-sized apples, peeled.) I also used wheat brain instead of oat brain. Definitely add all of the ingredients, including raisins and nuts (I used chopped walnuts) for the ideal taste and texture. They do stick to the muffin liners while still warm, but I'm guessing they won't once completely cool, as with most muffins. They took 20 - 25 minutes to bake, not 15 -20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
These are awesome. I used whole flaxseeds plus some chia seeds. Whole wheat flour, wheat germ and dates are the only other substitutions i made. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I have made these three times now. After the first try, I double the recipe because they are SO wonderful. I do use half whole wheat(more fiber) and half spelt (more protein) flour instead of white and cut back on the sugar. This whole wheat version takes about 35-40 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were great muffins that I feel good about eating! I make a batch for the week and re-heat each morning for breakfast. They are also great mid-afternoon for a quick, filling pick me up. Anyone doing weight watchers, mine calculated out to be 4PP, making 20 muffins. Few changes I made: used quick oats instead of bran, omitted the oil and rasins, used almonds, pastachios and pecans for my mixed nuts, used 2 tablespoons of cinnamun, a pinch of nutmeg, could prob have used more! I like these because while they are a little sweet, you won't find yourself overeating these because they are pretty dense. It's a complete meal with whole grains, veggie, fruit, and protein. Great find!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Love this recipe. Found most other recipes with flax were heavy and my kids didn't enjoy them. Made these and my kids loved them!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I love these muffins. I seem to take a lot of time to shred the carrots, and I grind my flax right before use, so I always make a double batch and freeze them. The paper liners don't work for me with these, as too much of the muffin sticks to the paper, and I want to eat it all! They are great as a midmorning snack, freezer to microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These muffins are out of this world! I made them in mini-muffin form and froze them (mostly to stop myself from eating the entire batch when they came out of the oven :) I'd pop a couple in a ziplock bag and by the time I was headed to work on the train, they were thawed and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These were delicious! I used white whole wheat flour, substituted dried cranberries since I don't care for cooked raisins, and increased cinnamon to 2 1/2 tsp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I baked one batch at the recommended temperature and time, but ended up leaving them in for almost 30 minutes. For the second batch I tried 375º for 25 minutes, and liked the results much better. These are still incredible, though, and the recipe will definitely be a staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States