Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Really great Recipe. I made a few changes as usual. I substituted 1/2 cup maple sugar for the 1 cup brown sugar and used whole milk and 1 tsp olive oil. I also left out the nuts and rasins as they were made for my toddler. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nativeSDgirl
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Darn good for such a healthy muffin. I substituted 1/3 pure maple syrup for the brown sugar and apple sauce for the oil. I also mixed the dry ingredients together (including raisins to keep them from sinking in the batter), then in a separate bowl the wet ingredients, then I put the wet into the dry and mixed, then added the carrots and apples. Baked for 18 minutes. For me, 3 medium carrots was 2 cups shredded. Four medium apples was 2 cups shredded. I used both red and green apples. I got 21 muffins from the recipe. With my modifications, each muffin is around 105 calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
2nd year I've made these for my boss (a health junkie & professional swimmer) and my husband (also a health junkie) and both years they raved about them! It's filled with tons of great flavors and you dont have to feel guilty about eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
yummy & healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I added some chopped dark chocolate, subbed the raisins for a mixture of cranberries and blueberries, added some unsweetened coconut, and for the nuts had a mixture of hazelnuts, almonds, and macadamia. SO SO SO good! I think you can do a lot with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
These are great fresh out of the oven. I found they became very sticky by the next day. Very tasty though, loved seeing my 4 year gobble one down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindybubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was my first time trying Bran Flax Muffins and they were really hearty and flavorful. I used leftover applesauce and was really glad I did. Husband raved about them also. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Tasty and moist. I added a bit of nutmeg, and used whole wheat flour instead of oat bran. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Yuuuuuuum. Instead of muffins I did loaves (this recipe made two loaves and it was amazing. I did do apple sauce instead of apples like someone else suggested. These are really moist and just the right amount of sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States