Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Halfway thru compiling the batter I said to my daughter "These muffins had better be fantastic because there are, like, 30,000 ingredients!" I'm happy to report that I was not disappointed :) These are moist and delicate and delicious. Before baking the "batter" was mostly shredded carrot with bits of brown barely holding it together, but 22 minutes later they looked just like the picture. I used extra carrot and sweet potato instead of apples, subbed wheat bran/germ for the oat bran, only 1/2 cup brown sugar, and omitted the nuts. Honestly they taste like little carrot cakes! I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Wow, these are so healthy! I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. Freshly ground flax seeds, and applesauce. Delicious and they keep me full well beyond lunchtime due to all the fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Love these muffins. So easy and so good. I fill paper lined muffin tin with ice cream scoop and was able to get 20 perfectly sized muffins. I ground my flax seeds and store in the freezer along with my bran and yeast containers. And they do reheat nicely during the week for easy breakfast at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made these muffins last night at they turned out delicious! a perfect snack with my morning coffee. I found that 2 medium carrots made about 2 cups shredded. I am sure these would be fine as is but I made a few minor changes, most of which are already mentioned in the other reviews. I used whole wheat for half the flour (will cut out white flour completely next time), increased the cinnamon to 3 tsp (will add more next time), added a pinch of nutmeg and ginger, shredded one apple but left the other in chunky bits. I also added a frozen raspberry into the middle of each muffin. I thought with all the fruit, raisins, etc. I could cut back on the sugar next time as they were bordering on being a bit too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was a great recipe. I didn't have oat bran, used whole wheat flour instead. I also didn't have raisins, so I used dates. They froze great. I will definately make these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I love these muffins! I can't stop making them. I only changed a few things. I left out the carrot and put more apples in, also I put some nutella in the middle of the muffins before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Really great tasting muffin, though I did make a couple changes because of what I had on hand. Used grated sweet potatoes vs. carrots and added a little bit of dried fruit-dates and cranberries. Very moist and flavorful-will be making these again, so thanks for this healthy rec!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Really great Recipe. I made a few changes as usual. I substituted 1/2 cup maple sugar for the 1 cup brown sugar and used whole milk and 1 tsp olive oil. I also left out the nuts and rasins as they were made for my toddler. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nativeSDgirl
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Darn good for such a healthy muffin. I substituted 1/3 pure maple syrup for the brown sugar and apple sauce for the oil. I also mixed the dry ingredients together (including raisins to keep them from sinking in the batter), then in a separate bowl the wet ingredients, then I put the wet into the dry and mixed, then added the carrots and apples. Baked for 18 minutes. For me, 3 medium carrots was 2 cups shredded. Four medium apples was 2 cups shredded. I used both red and green apples. I got 21 muffins from the recipe. With my modifications, each muffin is around 105 calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
2nd year I've made these for my boss (a health junkie & professional swimmer) and my husband (also a health junkie) and both years they raved about them! It's filled with tons of great flavors and you dont have to feel guilty about eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States