Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This recipe came verbatim from the back of Bob's Red Mill package of Flaxseed Meal. Joe') and 1/2 cup wheat flour (for more protein, low in carbs and sugar - watching the glycemic index; higher in fat but it's monounsaturated and heart-healthy like olive oil). Turned out really great also. Instead of raisins (my husband doesn't like them), I used blueberries. You can substitute items to make it your own. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
i tried this recipe it came out sooooo yummy. I used whole grain spelt flour 1 cup and 1/2 cup flour and Linwoods ground flaxseed (Flaxseed, cocoa, strawberries and blueberries mix) which gave these muffuns an exotic flavour. not only can i enjoy a healthy sweet high fiber treat i can stay well within my calories for weight management along with getting in my omega 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Wonderful!These are filling. I have also made these gluten free. I took these on a day trip for our breakfast to save money on eating out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is my first run at this recipe. I like the combination of ingredients and the taste is okay but could use at least 1 Tbsp cinnamon with maybe 1 tsp nutmeg too. Like some other reviewers, my muffins were too dry. I was worried when I was mixing them and was hoping the carrots and apples would have made up for the lack of moisture but no luck there. I did run out of milled flax while making this and needed an additional 1/4 cup. I ran some flax seeds through the dry blender, but I'm not sure if that would account for the dryness or not. I have a fairly dry and crumbly muffin that does not resemble the photos posted of this recipe. Other than the flax, I followed the recipe as written. I may try adding a 1/2 cup applesauce and see if that helps next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These are Great!!!! Taste great, filling, and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Good recipe. I didn't have flax seed, so I used 1 1/2 cups oat bran. No raisins, so I added dried cherries. No mixed nuts, only pecans. All good substitutions. I've added these items to my shopping list and am anxious to try the recipe as written. This is obviously a very forgiving recipe, dense but moist, great with milk or coffee. Should make a great breakfast or snack, and it will be easy to alter ingredients for a new taste once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I've made these twice. The first time I didn't have apples or carrots and substituted pears and yams and reduced the sugar by 1/4 because of the sweet potatoes and they turned out exceptional. Great recipe that you can tweak to your liking. I reduced the sugar by half and added a tablespoon of molasses the second time and they weren't as sweet but still good. I wanted to reduce the sodium content so I used just a half tsp. of baking soda and 2 tsp of baking powder. Next time I will use buttermilk and that should help them rise even better. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
DELICIOUS! I did make a few changes: I changed 1/2 of the ap flour for whole wheat flour. I didn't have oat bran so I used 1/2 cup steel cut oats and an extra 1/4 cup flour instead. I used honey instead of brown sugar, coconut milk instead of skim milk, and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I didn't have raisins, and I used almonds, pecans, & pistachios for the mixed nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The texture was great! I didn't use nuts or raisins but used blueberries and applesauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This recipe is great! I started making these as a way to get some more fiber in my 2 1/2 year old's diet and he loves to eat these for breakfast in the morning. I changed a couple of things and have had good success. First, I took out the brown sugar and replaced it with a 1/2 cup of honey and a 1/2 cup of molasses (trying to avoid refined sugars). Then I replaced the skim milk with 3/4 cup of plain pumpkin puree and added 1 tsp of ground ginger and 1 tsp of ground allspice in addition to the cinnamon. Finally, I sometimes replace the apples with pears depending on what I have on hand. Overall, these muffins are nice and moist, not too sweet, and the added spices really help the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States