Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
DELICIOUS! I did make a few changes: I changed 1/2 of the ap flour for whole wheat flour. I didn't have oat bran so I used 1/2 cup steel cut oats and an extra 1/4 cup flour instead. I used honey instead of brown sugar, coconut milk instead of skim milk, and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I didn't have raisins, and I used almonds, pecans, & pistachios for the mixed nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The texture was great! I didn't use nuts or raisins but used blueberries and applesauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This recipe is great! I started making these as a way to get some more fiber in my 2 1/2 year old's diet and he loves to eat these for breakfast in the morning. I changed a couple of things and have had good success. First, I took out the brown sugar and replaced it with a 1/2 cup of honey and a 1/2 cup of molasses (trying to avoid refined sugars). Then I replaced the skim milk with 3/4 cup of plain pumpkin puree and added 1 tsp of ground ginger and 1 tsp of ground allspice in addition to the cinnamon. Finally, I sometimes replace the apples with pears depending on what I have on hand. Overall, these muffins are nice and moist, not too sweet, and the added spices really help the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I have made this by replacing the oil with applesauce to make them even healthier. Very filling. They taste like carrot cake. I put about 1/2 in the freezer to help them last longer. They are still moist when I thaw them out and eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
These are great for breakfast or snack and they freeze well! Even my kids loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This was way short on cinnamon, 1 1/2 T would have been MUCH better. It was good, nice texture. I added 4 apples for a total of about 2 cups of apple. Seemed just right. Used 3/4 cup whole wheat and 3/4 all purpose flour. Also tossed in about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips since I will be feeding the to the kids :) I was going to toss in coconut but forgot, would have been really good in there too! The oil could have been completely omitted as well. Great recipe with some room for improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Excellent and moist. I used the basic recipe but had to change the add-in's in order to use what I had on hand. Instead of carrots and apples, I added a cup of coconut and a cup of golden raisins that I soaked in pineapple juice in order to plump them up. After filling the muffin tins, I topped the batter with pineapple and a struesel of melted butter, flour, brown sugar and cinnamon. They turned out very moist and were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I really enjoyed these! They were very easy to make and my husband -- for whom no muffin is ever quite moist enough -- loved them. I normally don't post changes I've made because then I didn't make the recipe, but I wanted people to know how flexible the recipe is. I used 1 c wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purpose, I combined flax seed and wheat germ, and I used applesauce instead of oil. I also didn't have any apples on hand, so I used zucchini. Delicious muffins that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
new favorite recipe! here are the changes I make. Most of them are just based on preference. I use 3/4 c whole wheat flour and 3/4 c. gluten free flour mix. I use wheat bran rather than oat bran. Soy milk in place of the skim milk and coconut oil rather than vegetable oil. I only use 1 c. of carrot and one apple. Then I add 1 or 2 mashed ripe bananas. Then I prefer to use chopped pecans rather than mixed nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I just made these after having lost this recipe (and found it again here)...I do things a little bit different from this recipe---I add a half cup of coconut and a half cup chocolate chips along with the raisins (but omit the nuts). I also use buttermilk instead of skim milk. I also omit the oat bran and add 3 tbsp of whole flax seed. I used to make these all the time, but lost the original recipe...found this one and kind of doctored it to the way I used to make them...at any rate---they are TRES yummy no matter which way you make them (but with my additions and deletions, they are really, really good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States