Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
My grandma made these a lot during my childhood. I always felt like I was doing something good for myself when I ate one. Now that I’m grown up, I like to make them too, but with my own twist – I always chop the raisins up so they’re spread throughout the muffin more, and use pecan chips instead of mixed nuts. To eat, I slice them in half, warm them in the toaster oven, and finally, finish them with a smudge of cream cheese. Don’t let the name these muffins, or all the healthy ingredients in them, scare you away – if you didn’t see the recipe, you’d never know they had oat bran or flax in them, or that they’re low in fat and full of fiber. Bottom line? They rock! I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Very good, used 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup honey, 1/2 cup molasses. Added 4 teaspoons cinnamon , used coconut oil for oil .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This recipe came verbatim from the back of Bob's Red Mill package of Flaxseed Meal. Joe') and 1/2 cup wheat flour (for more protein, low in carbs and sugar - watching the glycemic index; higher in fat but it's monounsaturated and heart-healthy like olive oil). Turned out really great also. Instead of raisins (my husband doesn't like them), I used blueberries. You can substitute items to make it your own. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
i tried this recipe it came out sooooo yummy. I used whole grain spelt flour 1 cup and 1/2 cup flour and Linwoods ground flaxseed (Flaxseed, cocoa, strawberries and blueberries mix) which gave these muffuns an exotic flavour. not only can i enjoy a healthy sweet high fiber treat i can stay well within my calories for weight management along with getting in my omega 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Wonderful!These are filling. I have also made these gluten free. I took these on a day trip for our breakfast to save money on eating out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is my first run at this recipe. I like the combination of ingredients and the taste is okay but could use at least 1 Tbsp cinnamon with maybe 1 tsp nutmeg too. Like some other reviewers, my muffins were too dry. I was worried when I was mixing them and was hoping the carrots and apples would have made up for the lack of moisture but no luck there. I did run out of milled flax while making this and needed an additional 1/4 cup. I ran some flax seeds through the dry blender, but I'm not sure if that would account for the dryness or not. I have a fairly dry and crumbly muffin that does not resemble the photos posted of this recipe. Other than the flax, I followed the recipe as written. I may try adding a 1/2 cup applesauce and see if that helps next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These are Great!!!! Taste great, filling, and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Good recipe. I didn't have flax seed, so I used 1 1/2 cups oat bran. No raisins, so I added dried cherries. No mixed nuts, only pecans. All good substitutions. I've added these items to my shopping list and am anxious to try the recipe as written. This is obviously a very forgiving recipe, dense but moist, great with milk or coffee. Should make a great breakfast or snack, and it will be easy to alter ingredients for a new taste once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I've made these twice. The first time I didn't have apples or carrots and substituted pears and yams and reduced the sugar by 1/4 because of the sweet potatoes and they turned out exceptional. Great recipe that you can tweak to your liking. I reduced the sugar by half and added a tablespoon of molasses the second time and they weren't as sweet but still good. I wanted to reduce the sodium content so I used just a half tsp. of baking soda and 2 tsp of baking powder. Next time I will use buttermilk and that should help them rise even better. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
DELICIOUS! I did make a few changes: I changed 1/2 of the ap flour for whole wheat flour. I didn't have oat bran so I used 1/2 cup steel cut oats and an extra 1/4 cup flour instead. I used honey instead of brown sugar, coconut milk instead of skim milk, and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I didn't have raisins, and I used almonds, pecans, & pistachios for the mixed nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States