Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Pretty good, the nuts give it a peanut butter like flavor and the raisins, apples and carrots keep things moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Great muffins! I made some changes: used whole wheat flour, soy milk, 1/2 apple sauce and skip the carrots. Next time I'll reduce brown sugar to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I used garbanzo bean flour instead of oat bran. Not to replace the bran, of course, but to add a bit of protein. I also increased the milk with about 2 tablespoons since I live at 5,500 feet. They are delicious, moist and not very sweet (which I, personally, prefer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chinle, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
So, I did almond milk, unsweetened vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I made the recipe tonight and it was delicious! Only I added 2 banana, 1 c coconut, and 1 c dark chocolate chips. Oh and also cloves and ginger and it stilled turned out great! Definitely saving this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye Gunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My poor little 18 month old has major constipation issues, and these were a huge help to him! It's hard to find a low fat, tasty bran muffin, so thank you for this recipe! I used coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Verona, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
These are wonderful muffins. I have made many substitutions and they always turn out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
These are so delicious! I will be making these many times.It is a very flexible recipe. If I don't have a dry ingredient I substitute another dry ingredient I have on hand. Same goes for the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Made the following changes/substitutions: -Upped the shredded carrots to 2 1/2 cups -Added more vanilla -1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 cup molasses (instead of all brown sugar) -Substituted 1/2 the milk for greek yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Hueneme, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent as-is! But if you want to mix it up, add 1/4 cup of cocoa, 1/2 cup applesauce, and some chocolate chips. You can also substitute baby-food prunes for the applesauce, and the cocoa will mask it nicely. An easy way to get a lot of healthy fiber into your kids. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States