Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These are very good for a healthy treat. They adapt well to what you have on hand. I have sent this recipe to numerous friends. They all love them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I wouldn't say I went into this with a bad attitude, but definitely a defiant one. I thought there was no way these could be as good, and as adaptable, as everyone said. So I went a little crazy. Instead of all-purpose flour, I used half spelt flour and half whole wheat flour. I used 1 3/4 c. applesauce instead of chopped apples. I used craisins instead of raisins. I lowered the quantity of nuts and upped the quantity of carrots. And they turned out perfectly. These are so exceptional! You'd never guess they're healthy- even my kids, who can be picky little pains in the tush about grains, ate the heck out of 'em. I did make an icing using mascarpone, powdered sugar and milk in case anyone found them lacking in sweetness, but they're terrific plain as well. One last thing- these are super moist. Now go make some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I used 1/2 c WW flour, 1 c regular flour. I didn't add raisins or nuts and that was a mistake. My rating is based on the way I made it, not the recipe. They came out okay. Definitely moist and don't taste like carrot at all. The fruit and nuts will add sweetness and texture which would make this a 5 star muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Love, love, love these muffins! I make them mini for the perfect size snack when I get the munchies. I've also substituted 1/2 a banana for the eggs, and soymilk for regular milk to accommodate vegan friends - it turned out just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parrishioner
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These were moist, dense and delicious. When I made them the yield was nearly 2 dozen muffins. If you're making the muffins larger you should err on the side of overbaking them- 20min may not be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrishioner
Home Town: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I used 1 1/2 cups bakers bran since I didn't have any flax on hand, then ground some red cabbage up in my processor (figured the kids wouldn't notice 1/2 c. of it, weird thing...it turned GREEN when it cooked so they look a bit strange, but my picky kids are eating them hot out of the oven, sooo...) also 1 c. applesauce in place of the apples, and added to carrots, dried cranberries, and raisins and up'd the cinnamon to 3 tsp. Despite the odd color mine took from my experiment with leafy greens, they tase great. My 4 yr old dtr announced she wanted these "cupcakes" for her birthday...hmmmm...a tinsy bit of icing and voila! healthy birthday option? maybe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made these muffins to use some flax seed that I purchased on sale. They are delicious and very moist. The recipe does make 15 muffins so I freeze the left-overs in a zip-lock bag. If you pop some out in the morning before work, they are thawed for a mid-morning snack! Last time I made them, i added a little mashed sweet potato. This is a good basic recipe. I'd like to try it with the addition of cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GATECHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delicious! I love these muffins. I used ground up oats rather than oat bran. They only took 12 minutes to bake in my oven. They are super moist and I ate 4 in one sitting they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
These were surprisingly good. Will definitely make again - so healthy for you. I did not use the apples but added in about 1/2 cup of apple sauce, and i also used wheat bran instead of fax because that is what i had on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I must say I was really nervous on how these were going to turn out! The batter did not smell like something I would want to dig into. However, after they came out of the oven I put a little smart balance butter on one and ate it and OMG!!! It was so so so good! I did use wheat bran instead of oat because my hubby is on a high fiber diet and wheat bran is REALLY REALLY high in fiber. I also used 1 cup wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour. I will be making these often! I want to make another batch just I can pass them out to friends so they can taste how good healthy can really be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States