Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I used 1 1/2 cups bakers bran since I didn't have any flax on hand, then ground some red cabbage up in my processor (figured the kids wouldn't notice 1/2 c. of it, weird thing...it turned GREEN when it cooked so they look a bit strange, but my picky kids are eating them hot out of the oven, sooo...) also 1 c. applesauce in place of the apples, and added to carrots, dried cranberries, and raisins and up'd the cinnamon to 3 tsp. Despite the odd color mine took from my experiment with leafy greens, they tase great. My 4 yr old dtr announced she wanted these "cupcakes" for her birthday...hmmmm...a tinsy bit of icing and voila! healthy birthday option? maybe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made these muffins to use some flax seed that I purchased on sale. They are delicious and very moist. The recipe does make 15 muffins so I freeze the left-overs in a zip-lock bag. If you pop some out in the morning before work, they are thawed for a mid-morning snack! Last time I made them, i added a little mashed sweet potato. This is a good basic recipe. I'd like to try it with the addition of cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GATECHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delicious! I love these muffins. I used ground up oats rather than oat bran. They only took 12 minutes to bake in my oven. They are super moist and I ate 4 in one sitting they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
These were surprisingly good. Will definitely make again - so healthy for you. I did not use the apples but added in about 1/2 cup of apple sauce, and i also used wheat bran instead of fax because that is what i had on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I must say I was really nervous on how these were going to turn out! The batter did not smell like something I would want to dig into. However, after they came out of the oven I put a little smart balance butter on one and ate it and OMG!!! It was so so so good! I did use wheat bran instead of oat because my hubby is on a high fiber diet and wheat bran is REALLY REALLY high in fiber. I also used 1 cup wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour. I will be making these often! I want to make another batch just I can pass them out to friends so they can taste how good healthy can really be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Yum, so delicious and so versatile! I make these all the time for my family and every loves them! I leave out the oil. Sometimes I add a few tablespoons of peanut butter, sometimes a few of applesauce. I used half a cup of Splenda brown sugar mix, and I use whole wheat flour. They're still always delicious, and so variable. Definitely try this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelllc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is a very tasty breakfast muffin. Great for "on the go" life styles. I use honey in place of sugar and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil to make it healthier. Tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronStef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I've made these a few times and I love them because they feel so good for you. Sometimes I reduce the sugar if I want to be super healthy and switch up the nuts and dried fruit. I like them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made these muffins with all whole wheat flour, applesauce and blueberries instead of the carrot/apple. I didnt add any oil just extra applesauce. I added extra cinnamon cause i love cinnamon flavor:) Very healthy muffin for quick breakfast on the go:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
So delicious! I made these 2 nights ago and can't stop eating them. I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 wheat flour instead of all white and used non-fat milk in place of skim. These are so good - I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States